St George crowned Belvidere Cup champions

St George District Cricket Club have outclassed Manly Warringah District Cricket Club in a tense, three-day battle to claim the 2023-24 men’s McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket first grade title.

St George District Cricket Club celebrate with the Belvidere Cup // Ian Bird Photography

For over 125 years, Sydney's men's first grade cricket clubs have been competing for the prestigious Belvidere Cup. This year’s victory was St George’s 18th Belvidere Cup.    

Match report: 

Saints skipper Nicholas Stapleton opted to bowl after winning the toss.  

Jonathon Craig-Dobson took the final’s first three wickets to have the Waratahs at 3/39 at lunch on day one.   

Rafael MacMillan continued his stellar start to the year. The U19 ICC World Cup winner contributed with another five-wicket haul for the Saints (5-53), ending Manly Warringah’s first innings at 140 all out.  

Waratahs pace duo Ryan Hadley and Jack Edwards came out firing, snaring two quick wickets to end the first day’s play, with the match evenly poised.  

However, a resilient captain’s knock from Stapleton (45 runs from 135 balls) would ensure the Saints surpassed Manly Warringah’s first innings total midway through day two.  

Lower order contributions from Craig-Dobson (36*) and MacMillan (24) gave the minor premiers a 69-run lead going into the second innings.  

Ollie Davies came to the crease late on the second day with Manly Warringah trailing by 54 runs. In typical Davies fashion, the electrifying right-hander scored rapidly, racing to 81 from just 42 deliveries by the close of play.  

Davies picked up where he left off on the third and final day, firing his way to a 64-ball hundred, and in doing so became the first player to achieve a century in all three finals fixtures in the same year 

However, it was Craig-Dobson who struck the damaging blow, claiming figures of 6-51 to set the Saints a 115-run target for glory. 

Blake Nikitaras (60*) and Blake Macdonald (53*) did not falter, guiding St George to a nine-wicket win and the first grade premiership.   

Jonathon Craig-Dobson was awarded the Benaud Medal for Player of the Final.  

Score Wrap-Up
St George v Manly Warringah 

Manly Warringah 140 (J Davies 30, R MacMillan 5-53) & 183 (O Davies 105, J Craig-Dobson 6-51) def by St George 209 (N Stapleton 45, T Kaye 3-36) & 1/117 (B Nikitaras 60*, B Macdonald 53*) 

Benaud Medal for Player of the Final: Jonathon Craig-Dobson 3-31, 36* and 6-51.  

Jonathon Craig-Dobson was awarded the Benaud Medal for Player of the Final // Ian Bird Photography

Umpires: Gerard Abood, Ben Treloar and  

A full scorecard can be accessed HERE 

Cricket NSW would like to congratulate both sides on a terrific final and extend our thanks to the many spectators who provided an enjoyable atmosphere at Cricket Central.  

Official Partners