Men’s NSW Premier Cricket season starts with short-format schedule

The 2023-24 men’s NSW Premier Cricket competition will commence this Saturday, with players from all 20 first-grade teams suiting up in club colours to launch their Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup campaigns.

It is set to be a fast start to the new season, with all five preliminary rounds of the T20 Cup scheduled to be played across the next two weekends, followed closely by a finals series throughout October and the tournament decider booked in for Sunday November 5.

The popular twenty-over tournament takes a new shape this year, with the draw now consisting of four pools made up of five randomised teams, as opposed to the previous structure that saw the competition divide into two conferences consisting of the same clubs year on year.

The top three sides from each pool at the conclusion of the preliminary rounds will advance to a finals series, whilst the bottom two clubs will be eliminated.


Round one will feature reigning Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup champions Sydney, take on rivals and last season’s runner’s up Sydney University, from 9.30am at Benson’s Lane Oval 2.

2022-23 Thunder conference table-toppers Bankstown, host Manly Warringah from 9.30am, before coming up against current Limited-Overs Cup premiers Northern District at 1.30pm.

With all NSW Blues contracted players expected to be available for selection, spectators can anticipate an elite opening weekend of men’s premier cricket.

Men’s lower grade sides (2nd to 5th grade) will commence their season with three one-day fixtures over three weekends beginning September 30.

Cricket NSW Premier Cricket Manager Roy Formica is looking forward to an action-packed start to another summer of high-quality grade cricket.

 I’m excited to get the new season underway,Formica said.

“We’ve decided to launch the season with the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup for several reasons. The decision aims to provide a thrilling start to the grade cricket summer and boost the competition’s visibility. However, the primary factor influencing this decision was the feedback received from clubs and players expressing concerns that midweek T20 fixtures lacked sufficient support to justify their continuation.  

“I want to wish all teams, players, officials and volunteers the best for this weekend’s set of fixtures and all that follow.”

The full fixture in season 2023-24 will include:

  • First Grade: 15 rounds including 9 x Two-Day matches, 6 x One-Day Limited-Overs* games and 5 x T20 contests | excluding all finals fixtures
  • Lower Grades: 16 rounds including 6 x Two-Day matches, 10 x One-Day Limited-Overs* games | excluding all finals fixtures
  • Poidevin-Gray Shield: 5 rounds including 5 x Limited-Overs* games | excluding all finals fixtures
  • AW Green Shield: 7 rounds including 7 x Limited-Over*s games | excluding all finals fixtures

*Limited-Overs games are 50 overs per side

To view all men’s NSW Premier Cricket competition fixtures for season 2023-24, CLICK HERE.

Fixtures for the Women’s NSW Premier Cricket competition are set to be finalised in the coming fortnight. Stay tuned to our social media channels for the schedule release announcement.

Official Partners