Men’s NSW Premier Cricket finals preview

This weekend will mark the conclusion of the 2023/24 men’s McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket season with finals from five grades, featuring seven clubs, set to take place across Sydney.

Here are previews for each lower grade grand final, with a first grade preview set to be released tomorrow: 

Second Grade | The Albert Cup

Men’s McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket Second Grade Final 
Who: Bankstown v Western Suburbs  
When: Saturday, March 30 – Monday, April 1. First ball 10am 
Where: Bankstown Oval, Bankstown. 
Umpires: Sharad Patel and Troy Penman 


  • The Bulldogs finished the preliminary season in second position, losing just twice in 16 rounds.  
  • With 645 runs (ave. 40.31), captain Mitch Hinds has tallied the second-most runs in the entire second grade competition this season. The Bulldogs skipper has crossed the half-century mark on seven occasions.  
  • Bowling trio Gurinderjeet Hara (30 wickets), Zane Mitchell (29 wickets) and Mitchell Constantinou (28 wickets) lead the line for the hosts, while Justin Felsch is coming off a six-wicket performance in the side’s semi-final win over Northern District.  
  • Bankstown last lifted the Albert Cup in 2019/20.  

 Western Suburbs 

  • The Magpies secured fourth place at the conclusion of the regular season, qualifying for finals with a record of 9-6. A dominant win over a ladder leading Manly XI propelled Western Suburbs into the final.  
  • Tony Cornwell leads the squad in runs scored, having accumulated 466 (ave. 33.29), including four half-centuries.  
  • Captain Alex MacInnes sits in second for wickets taken in second grade with 37 (ave. 12.73). MacInnes claimed 7-48 in the Magpies’ semi-final win.  
  • Not since season 1966/67 has a Western Suburbs side raised the Albert Cup.  

Bankstown emerged 23-run victors when the teams last met in round 10, at Bankstown Oval. 

Live scores | HERE 

Third Grade | The Mitchell Cup

What: Men’s McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket Third Grade Final 
Who: Sydney University v Manly Warringah 
When: Saturday, March 30 – Sunday, March 31. First ball 10am.  
Where: University Oval No.1, Sydney University.  
Umpires: Darren Goodger and Roberto Howard 

Sydney University 

  • 14 wins, one loss, 88 competition points...that is how the Students shot into the third-grade finals series. A 174-run semi-final victory against Northern District would cement their place in the decider. 
  • Matthew Powys leads the team with 467 runs (29.19 ave.) heading into the final. An unbeaten 132* against Mosman in round 8 being the pick of his innings.   
  • 28 wickets at 11.93 makes Darcy Manners the dangerman for the Students. Manners’ season best spell came in round 15 against Parramatta, where he collected 6-15. 
  • Sydney University will be looking to hoist the Mitchell Cup for the fourth time in nine seasons having won the grade in 2019/20, 2017/18 and 2015/16.  

 Manly Warringah 

  • Last year’s grand finalists finished with 11 wins and five defeats to qualify for finals cricket. A six-wicket semi-final triumph over Eastern Suburbs gives the Waratahs a shot at premiership glory.  
  • Samuel Hole has managed 391 runs (27.93 ave.) this season, 79 more than his nearest teammate. Hole has added 136 runs in his last two visits to the crease, including a remarkable century (105) in the Qualifying Final against Parramatta.    
  • The Waratahs will be eager to get the ball in Joshua Lawson’s hand, with Lawson having collected 32 wickets (14.19), the second-most in third grade this season.   
  • Manly Warringah are aiming to reclaim the third-grade title they last won in 2014/15.  

Sydney University ran out 97-run winners when they faced Manly at St Paul’s Oval back in round 13. 

Live scores | HERE 

Fourth Grade | The Reid Cup 

What: Men’s McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket Fourth Grade Final 
Who: Manly Warringah v Northern District 
When: Saturday, March 30 – Sunday, March 31. First ball 10am. 
Where: Manly Oval, Manly. 
Umpires: Andrew Hamilton and Jake Wholohan 

Manly Warringah 

  • The defending champions are yet to be defeated this year, having last missed out on points in November 2023. A regular season record of 13 wins and two losses, including a tied match and three bonus points saw the Waratahs claim the minor premiership.  
  • Jayden Kennedy has totalled 447 runs (31.93 ave.) to sit atop his team’s scoring tally for the season.   
  • With 40 wickets (12.78 ave.), Will Skinner is the second-highest leading wicket taker in fourth grade. Skinner’s standout performance came in round 12, where he claimed figures of 6-42 and 3-31 in an outright win over Randwick Petersham.  
  • Manly Warringah are the reigning Reid Cup premiers.   

 Northern District 

  • The Rangers have only lost once this season, all the way back in round 3. 
  • 487 runs at an average of 48.7, including five half-centuries and a match-winning qualifying final century (106), makes Kyal Cruickshank the big Northern District wicket.   
  • Matthew Brown has the most poles for the Rangers, having snared 27 (14.7) across 15 appearances. Brown produced a season-best spell of 7-52 in his sides’ round 5 clash with Randwick Petersham.  
  • Northern District are hoping to achieve the club’s first, fourth grade title.    

The two sides are yet to meet this season, making for a highly anticipated final.  

Live scores | HERE 

Fifth Grade | The David Sherwood Cup 

What: Men’s McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket Fifth Grade Final 
Who: Manly Warringah v Parramatta 
When: Saturday, March 30 – Sunday, March 31. First ball 10am. 
Where: LM Graham Reserve, Fairlight 
Umpires: Bob McGregor and Daniel Moran 

Manly Warringah 

  • The highest points-accumulating side this season with 95.0, boasting a record of 14 wins and one defeat.  
  • Jack Melchiore has totalled 434 runs at an astounding average of 108.5. Melchiore managed to remain unbeaten in all three of his fifth grade centuries – 107*, 140*, 107*.   
  • Manly Warringah will want Julian Osbourne at his dangerous best, with the emerging quick having taken 36 wickets (7.67) this fifth grade season, including at least one in each of his 12 appearances.  
  • The Waratah’s last took out the David Sherwood Cup in season 2017/18.  


  • The Two Blues secured a second-place finish following the completion of the regular season, earning a record of 13 wins and three defeats.  
  • With 410 runs (ave. 45.56), Athan Mazariotis is Parramatta’s primary scorer. Not far behind on 372 runs is teammate Advik Ajithkumar.  
  • Parramatta’s bowling attack has been second to none this season. Captain Liam Gillies leads the David Sherwood Cup in wickets with 38 (ave. 11.37), while Kabir Rana (32 wickets) and Naveen Patil (31 wickets) sit in fourth and fifth, respectively.  
  • 2004/05 was the last season Parramatta were David Sherwood Cup premiers.   

The two teams produced a thriller in their round 14 encounter, where Manly Warringah came away with a narrow one-wicket win.  

Live scores | HERE 

All grand final fixtures will be live streamed through the Cricket NSW YouTube channel: View Here 

Cricket NSW would like to wish all players, coaches and umpires the best ahead of what will be an enthralling end to another fantastic season of NSW Premier Cricket.  

Official Partners