NSW next-gen named in U19 national side for Women’s Tour of Sri Lanka

Cricket Australia (CA) has today named four NSW representatives in an Australian Women’s squad for a multi-format Under-19 series in Sri Lanka, which starts next month.

The National Youth Selection Panel worked with State Talent Managers to select NSW’s Kate Pelle, Juliette Morton, Lucy Finn and Sienna Eve in a 15-player outfit that will take part in a tri-series with Sri Lanka and England.  

Pelle will again feature in an Australian side, having opened the batting, and kept wicket at the 2023 U19 Women's World Cup in South Africa. Her selection comes just months after earning domestic One-Day and T20 debuts with the NSW Breakers and Sydney Sixers.  

A prolific spin bowler from St George-Sutherland, Morton finished as the leading wicket-taker at the 2022-23 U16 Female National Championships (FNC). This year, she claimed the third-most dismissals in the title-winning 2023-24 U19 FNC NSW Metropolitan squad. 

Emerging all-rounder, Lucy Finn, scored 129 runs at an average of 43, alongside capturing three wickets and two catches during NSW Metropolitan’s successful 2023-24 U19 FNC campaign. 

Eve, who hails from Newcastle, has collected 13 wickets in the top division of women’s NSW Premier Cricket this season. She also led the NSW Country bowling unit at the 2023-24 U19 FNC, snaring 10 tournament wickets at an average of 7.  

Cricket NSW’s Jenny Gunn, alongside Lachlan Stevens, will support Cricket Australia National Development Lead, Kristen Beams, as an assistant coach for the upcoming tour.  

Australia will play four T20s, with the first on March 28, before two One-Day matches in April.  

Sonya Thompson, Cricket Australia Head of National Development, said: 

“The tri-series in Sri Lanka gives our under-19 squad a great development opportunity as part of our preparation for the T20 World Cup next year. 

"We are committed to strengthening our pathway program across Australian Cricket and opportunities like this provide our young cricketers with an insight into playing at an international level as well as learning about playing in subcontinent conditions and experiencing some of the challenges that come with touring overseas.  

"As we saw throughout the Lanning vs Perry Series and during the U19 National Championships, we have a strong depth of talent coming through the pathway and as the women's game continues to grow there will be increasing opportunities for our most talented players at both a domestic and international level." 

Kristen Beams, Australian Women’s Under 19 head coach, said: 

“The series in Sri Lanka will give the squad the chance to play in a multi-format series and challenge them to adapt to different conditions.  

“The T20 matches will provide the squad with a great development opportunity ahead of the Under-19 T20 World Cup and we're also excited about the 50-over matches.  

“We are also looking to give players a chance to develop their leadership skills across the series.”  

Australian U19 Women’s Squad 

Amy Hunter (ACT / Atherton Cricket Club)  
Amy Smith (TAS / New Town Cricket Club)  
Bonnie Berry (QLD / Emerald Brothers Cricket Club)  
Eleanor Larosa (SA / Glenelg District Cricket Club)  
Grace Lyons (ACT / Weston Creek Cricket Club)  
Hasrat Gill  (VIC / Melbourne Cricket Club)  
Ines McKeon (WA / Midland Guildford Cricket Club)  
Juliette Morton (NSW / St George-Sutherland Women’s Cricket Club)  
Kate Pelle (NSW / Parramatta Women’s Grade Cricket Club) 
Lucy Finn (NSW / St George-Sutherland Women’s Cricket Club)  
Lucy Hamilton (QLD / Sunshine Coast Cricket Club)  
Maggie Clark (SA / West Torrens District Cricket Club)  
Samara Dulvin (VIC / Ringwood Cricket Club)  
Sienna Eve (NSW / Newcastle Cricket Club / Northern District Cricket Club) 
Tegan Williamson (WA / Wanneroo District Cricket Club)  

Coach: Kristen Beams  
Assistant Coach: Jenny Gunn 
Assistant Coach: Lachlan Stevens  

2024 Australian Women’s Under-19 Tour of Sri Lanka   

T20 Series 
March 28: Sri Lanka v Australia   
March 29: Australia v England  
March 30: Sri Lanka v England  
April 1: Sri Lanka v Australia   
April 2: Australia v England  
April 3: England v Sri Lanka  
One-Day Series 
April 5: Sri Lanka v Australia  
April 7: Australia v England   
April 9: Sri Lanka v England 

Official Partners