NSW trio selected for Perth Test; Brown named in Green vs. Gold squad

The National Selection Panel (NSP) has named a 14-player squad for the Commbank Women’s Test against South Africa at the WACA Ground in Perth, including NSW’s Alyssa Healy, Ashleigh Gardner and Phoebe Litchfield.

The four-day fixture, scheduled to begin on February 15 at 2pm (Sydney time), will round out South Africa’s three-week tour of Australia. View the fixture details HERE

NSW Breakers fast bowler Lauren Cheatle, who was part of the previous Test squad which played India in December, is unavailable for selection. Cheatle has been ruled out of the remainder of the domestic cricket season after undergoing a medical procedure on her neck to remove a skin cancer.

Australian squad for the CommBank Women’s Test:

Alyssa Healy (NSW / Sydney CC) (C)
Darcie Brown (SA / Northern Districts CC) 
Ashleigh Gardner (NSW / Bankstown CC) 
Kim Garth (VIC / Dandenong CC) 
Jess Jonassen (QLD / Valley Districts CC) 
Alana King (WA / Midland Guildford CC) 
Phoebe Litchfield (NSW / Sydney University CC)
Tahlia McGrath (SA / Glenelg CC) (VC)
Sophie Molineux (VIC / Dandenong CC)
Beth Mooney (WA / Sandgate-Redcliffe CC) 
Ellyse Perry (VIC / Dandenong CC) 
Megan Schutt (SA / Sturt CC) 
Annabel Sutherland (VIC / Prahran CC) 
Georgia Wareham (VIC / Essendon Maribyrnong Park CC)

The NSP has also named 26 players to take part in a ‘Green vs. Gold’ red ball match to be played from March 5-7 at Karen Rolton Oval in Adelaide, including NSW Breakers allrounder, Maitlan Brown.

The three-day match, which supplements an expanding Australia A program, will bring together the most promising players from across the country.

Selection for the series was finalised by the NSP with the support of State and Territory Associations.

Green Squad
Heather Graham (TAS / Clarence District CC) (C)
Maitlan Brown (NSW / Sydney Cricket Club)
Maddy Darke (WA / Subiaco-Floreat CC)
Amy Edgar (WA / Melville District CC)
Alana King (WA / Midland-Guildford CC)
Chloe Piparo (WA / Midland-Guildford CC) (VC)
Lilly Mills (WA / Midland-Guildford CC)
Kate Peterson (SA / Glenelg CC)
Sophie Reid (VIC / Carlton CC)
Hayley Silver-Holmes (TAS / Newtown CC)
Courtney Sippel (QLD / Gold Coast District CC)
Tayla Vlaeminck (VIC / Plenty Valley CC)
Georgia Voll (QLD / Sandgate-Redcliffe CC)

Gold Squad

Charli Knott (QLD / Valley District CC) (C)
Emma de Broughe (SA / Sturt CC)
Darcie Brown (SA / Northen Districts CC)
Sophie Day (VIC / Prahran CC)
Nicole Faltum (VIC / Dandenong CC) (VC)
Tess Flintoff (VIC / Ringwood CC)
Kim Garth (VIC / Dandenong CC)
Sianna Ginger (QLD / Valley District CC)
Milly Illingworth (VIC / Essendon Maribyrnong Park CC)
Katie Mack (ACT / Weston Creek Molonglo CC)
Grace Parsons (QLD / Gold Coast District CC)
Courtney Webb (SA / Glenelg CC)
Amanda-Jade Wellington (SA / West Torrens CC)

Cricket Australia’s Head of Performance (Women’s Cricket) and National Selector, Shawn Flegler said:

“Firstly, I’d like to acknowledge Lauren Cheatle’s incredible resilience as she continues her recovery from the removal of a skin cancer on her neck. 

“A vibrant character and a valued team member, we were shattered to learn of Lauren’s latest set-back and will continue to support her throughout her recovery.

“The three-day ‘Green vs. Gold’ match at Karen Rolton Oval is a new addition to supplement our Australia A program which aims to help prepare domestic players for all formats of international cricket.

“With several established international players named in the squad, we’re looking forward to seeing a high level of cricket across the three days.”

Official Partners