North Sydney Oval will be the venue for an exciting double-header of Women’s Premier T20 Finals on Sunday.

The decider of the first-grade T20 will feature Northern District taking on Universities at the famous suburban ground as winners of the Sixers and Thunder Conferences respectively. This fixture will follow the second-grade final between St George-Sutherland and Bankstown.

The double-header follows the Sixers against Brisbane Heat on Saturday at North Sydney Oval.

Across both sides there are seven players available for the decider who played in the T20 Brewer Shield Final in 2016 between the two clubs.

Spinners Alisha Bates, Abbey Taylor, Isabelle Afaras, Sarah Turner, wicketkeeper-batter Maddy Darke, allrounder Olivia Porter and fast bowler Stella Campbell played in that final as young teenagers and three and a half years later could all take the field the T20 first-grade decider this Sunday.

They have each played 40 or more games at first-grade level during this period. 

Last Sunday, Campbell took her first WBBL wicket and debuted alongside Darke against the Sydney Thunder on 18 October.

Northern District topped the Thunder conferences with three wins from three. Their run to the final began with a 16-run victory over St George, a narrow seven-run win over Sydney, and finally a nine-wicket triumph over Gordon last Sunday.

The Thunder Conference featured each team playing four matches, and Universities topped the table with an unbeaten record and played one extra match than Northern District.

They defeated Parramatta by 29 runs in the opening round, followed by a smashing nine-wicket victory over Campbelltown-Camden, then an even more impressive 10-wicket win over Penrith in the third round, and finally a rain affected draw on Sunday against Bankstown.

New Sydney Sixers recruit and exciting young leg-spinner Alisha Bates has been named in the side for Northern District, alongside fellow spinner Isabelle Afaras, who recently signed with the ACT Meteors this season for her first contract in state cricket.

Campbell, 17, and Darke, 18, are both available for Universities.

Campbell is equal leading wicket taker in the First Grade T20 with six wickets at the amazing average of 6.67 and best of 3-15. 

Off-spinner Abbey Taylor has the second-best bowling record of the tournament with six wickets herself at a brilliant average of 7.50 and a best of 2-5. She will line-up for Northern District alongside the tournament’s top run-scorer Anika Learoyd.       

Learoyd has scored 115 runs over her three innings at the superb average of 57.50. She hit a top score of 47 against St George in the opening round.

Learoyd finished on an unbeaten 26 on Sunday to help guide her side to a simple run-chase against Gordon.

Bess Heath and Porter are the second and third highest run-scorers and they are expected to take to field for Universities in the decider. Heath has scored 114 runs over her three innings at 57, just a single run short of Learoyd. She has a top score of 51 not out against Campbelltown-Camden in the second round.

Allrounder Porter has tallied 112 runs for the season in her three innings for an extraordinary average of the same figure having only been dismissed once. Her top score of 39 not out came against Penrith in the third round. She is expected to captain the Universities side.

The Third-Grade limited overs matches on Saturday will include Bankstown playing Manly-Warringah, Campbelltown-Camden against St George-Sutherland, and Gordon taking on Universities.

First Grade T20 Final

Match Date: Sunday 10th November 2019;

Start Time: 2:00pm

(Sixers Conference Winner) Northern District v (Thunder Conference Winner) Universities at North Sydney Oval;

Umpires: James Figallo & Peter Tate.

Second Grade T20 Final

Match Date: Sunday 10th November 2019;

Start Time: 10:00am

(Sixers Conference Winner) St George-Sutherland v (Thunder Conference Winner) Bankstown at North Sydney Oval;

Umpires: Bob McGregor & Russel Miles.