It was a rain affected Saturday during round 10 of McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket, with six of the 10 matches being abandoned without a result, including four without a single ball bowled. During what was a much needed period of wet weather for the state, unfortunately some exciting matchups were cancelled due to the showers.

There were however some notable milestones achieved during the play that was able to go ahead.

Ahillen Beadle top scored for Manly-Warringah during the rain affected victory over UTS North Sydney with 29 from 28 balls, including two fours and a six, which took his career tally past 8000 First-Grade runs to 8028 runs at a 31.48 average. Beadle is the 68th player to pass 8000 runs in the history of the competition that dates back to 1893-94.

The match was reduced to 28 overs aside once play finally began after a lengthy delay, where Manly finished on 8/174. Fast-bowler Matthew Alexander took 3-42 from six overs for Norths, which took him to 41 wickets for the Premier Cricket season at the superb 18.60 average.

Alexander is the top wicket-taker for the season so far and the first to reach 40 scalps. Norths fells short by 4 runs after being kept to 8/170, thanks to NSW Blues contracted fast-bowler Ryan Hadley’s 2-16 from six overs, but not without Norths batsman Tim Reynolds smashing 74 from 66 balls, including four boundaries and clearing the rope six times.

Gordon batsman Steve Colley scored his fourth First-Grade century, and 40th score of 50 or more, with 101 from 98 balls, hitting five fours and five sixes, as his team went down to Western Suburbs during a match that was reduced to 34 overs per side after play had already begun.

Colley added 114 for the third-wicket with 19-year-old Lachlan Barnsley who recorded his third half-century in a row, hitting 58 from 57 balls, with seven fours and a six. 

Western Suburbs finished on 5/211 with opener Isaac Taylor, 88 from 84 balls (four boundaries and three sixes) and captain Joshua Clarke, 83 from 79 balls (11 fours and a six), recording a second-wicket partnership of 119. Gordon replied with 8/221 but were short of the Duckworth Lewis Stern revised target.

Randwick Petersham defeated Mosman during a match that was shortened to 24 overs per side. Blues contracted fast-bowler Greg West took 2-24 off five overs for Mosman, however Randy Petes reached 9/167 with Adam Semple top scoring on 40 from 26 balls with three boundaries and three rope clearances.

Mosman were knocked dismissed for 154, with Daya Singh claiming 4-39 from five overs for Randwick-Petersham, and Ryan Ninan taking 3-13.

Sydney defeated UNSW at Drummoyne Oval after the match was also affected by rain and reduced to a 35 over fixture once play had already commenced. UNSW made 6/154 before Sydney passed the Duckworth Lewis Stern revised target after 31 overs, finishing on 2/175.

Sydney opening batsman Justin Mosca hit 60 from 73 balls with five fours and a six, while teammate Matthew Rodgers top scored with 62 from 78 balls, including four boundaries and a six. The pair put on 91 for the second-wicket.

Fairfield-Liverpool was restricted to 8/175 from 50 overs by Hawkesbury, with teenager Nivethan Radhakrishnan taking 3-37 from 10 overs. Tail-ender and contracted Blues fast-bowler Chad Sammut top scored for Fairfield-Liverpool, hitting 31 from 24 balls.

The match was abandoned due to wet weather before Hawkesbury was able to start its innings. 

Campbelltown-Camden was 1/10 from five overs during their fixture with St George before the wet weather arrived at Hurstville Oval and the match was abandoned.

Eastern Suburbs v Bankstown at Waverly Oval; Penrith v Sydney University at Howell Oval; Sutherland v Blacktown Mounties at Glenn McGrath Oval; and Parramatta v Northern District at Old Kings Oval, were all abandoned without a ball bowled.



NSW Premier Cricket: First Grade: Round 10:


First Grade:


Fairfield-Liverpool 8-175 (C Sammut 31no R Srivastava 26 M Williams 22 N Radhakrishnan 3-37 A Kherkhah 2-14) drew Hawkesbury at Rosedale Oval,


Manly-Warringah 8-174 (A Beadle 29 M Brewster 25 R Farrell 20 M Alexander 3-42 O Knight 2-26 W Graham 2-43) bt UTS North Sydney 8-170 (T Reynolds 74 J James 40 G Lavelle 26no R Hadley 2-16 G Lea 2-47) at Manly Oval,


Randwick Petersham 9-167 (A Semple 40 D Bell-Drummond 24 W Affleck 22 G West 2-24 J Turner 2-25 D Crawford 2-33) bt Mosman 154 (N Hinton 36 A Adlam 32 H Dalton 23 D Singh 4-39 R Ninan 3-13 R Ayre 2-31) at Allan Border Oval,


Campbelltown-Camden 1-10 drew St George at Hurstville Oval,


Sydney 2-175 (M Rodgers 62no J Mosca 60 R Felsch 26) bt UNSW 6-154 (J Attenborough 48 H Kakkireni 29 S Thanabalasingam 22 R Felsch 2-28) on DLS method at Drummoyne Oval,


Western Suburbs 5 -211 (I Taylor 88 J Clarke 83) bt Gordon 8-221 (S Colley 101no L Barnsley 58 N Doyle 23 M Irfan Jr 2-26 C Blaxall-Hill 2-55) on DLS method at Pratten Park,


Eastern Suburbs drew Bankstown (no play at Waverley Oval),


Parramatta drew Northern District (no play at Old Kings Oval),


Penrith drew Sydney University (no play at Howell Oval),


Sutherland drew Blacktown Mounties (no play at Glenn McGrath Oval).




Randwick Petersham 49

Sydney University 46

Sydney 43

UTS North Sydney 38

Bankstown 38

St George 38

Eastern Suburbs 38

Penrith 34

Western Suburbs 31

Northern District 31

Campbelltown-Camden 31

Gordon 21

Parramatta 20

Blacktown Mounties 20

Manly-Warringah 19

Sutherland 19

Mosman 18

Hawkesbury 15

Fairfield-Liverpool 14

UNSW 12..




First Grade Limited-Overs Final Standings:


Sydney University 27

Sydney 25

Randwick Petersham 24

Penrith 20

Eastern Suburbs 20

Gordon 20

Manly-Warringah 18

Parramatta 14

St George 14

Bankstown 14

Blacktown Mounties 14

Northern District 13

Hawkesbury 13


Western Suburbs 12

Sutherland 7

Campbelltown-Camden 7

Fairfield-Liverpool 7

UTS North Sydney 6

Mosman 0