A superb team bowling performance and century to opening batsman Will Buttleman has helped Mosman secure the NSW Premier Cricket Under 21 Poidevin-Gray Shield for the sixth time.

Mosman won the final on Sunday by 181 runs after it bundled out Blacktown for 82 at the Warriors home ground of Joe McAleer Reserve. It was the first time since 1986/87 that Mosman had claimed the Shield.

Buttleman was awarded the Shane Lee Medal as Player of the Final for his sublime 121 from 152 balls in a strong total of 4/263 from the allocated 50 overs. The opener hit nine fours and two sixes during his match-winning century.

Mosman finished the preliminary rounds in fourth position and defeated its higher placed rivals on Sunday. Blacktown finished the competition in second but on the same number of points as minor premiers Penrith.

The performance of the Mosman bowling attack was epitomised by the fact that every bowler used by captain Anthony Adlam claimed at least two wickets.

Left-arm finger spinner Dermott Beattie and seamer Hayden Brown both collected three wickets each.

Opening the bowling, Beattie returned 3-33 from his 10 overs, including the vital scalp of NSW Blues rookie and Blacktown captain Jordan Gauci, bowled for 2, in the fourth over. Brown took 3-20 from five.

The other wicket takers for Mosman were wrist spinner Nathan Doyle (2-9) and pace bowler Elijah Eales (2-19), son of Australian Rugby Union great, John Eales.

Leading into the final, Buttleman had scored 246 runs from his eight matches in the competition and saved his best performance until last.

Buttleman shared a 182-run partnership with Australian Under 19 representative Lachlan Hearne (80 from 99) for the second wicket.

Hearne finished the competition as the leading run-scorer from all matches including the final. He made 399 runs at an average of 66.5.

Doyle was the equal leading wicket taker for the competition with Blacktown off-spinner Antum Naqvi. Both bowlers claimed 18 scalps.

McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket:

Poidevin-Gray Shield – Grand Final

Mosman 4-263 (W Buttleman 121 L Hearne 80 A Adlam 21no T Draca 2-46) bt Blacktown 82 (T Flynn-Duncombe 37no H Brown 3-20 D Beattie 3-33 N Doyle 2-9 E Eales 2-19) at Joe McAleer Reserve.

Shane Lee Medal for Player of the Final: Will Buttleman (Mosman).