Defending champions ACT/NSW Country and NSW Metropolitan have announced their squads for the Male Under 19 National Championships in Perth during December.

The 2019/20 renewal takes on added significance, with Australia’s squad for the ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup, to be held in South Africa in January and February, to be selected at the end of the tournament.

NSW Blues rookie and Sydney Thunder batsman Ollie Davies will again captain Metro after he stole the headlines at last season’s championships with a record 207 not out from 115 balls against the Northern Territory, the first double century scored in a limited-overs match at an Under 19 National Championships.

Davies joins fellow Australian Under 19 players fast bowler Liam Marshall, batsmen Lachlan Hearne, Yuvraj Sharma and leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha in a strong 14-player Metro squad.

Fourteen players have also been selected for ACT/NSW Country with seven members of the squad who defeated Queensland in last year’s rain affected Final retaining their place.

Among those players are Player of the Final last season allrounder Kaleb Phillips. Opening batter Will Fort, wicketkeeper Josh Staines, allrounder Henry Railz, seamer Glenn Winsor and fast bowler Rupert Lilburne also retain their place.

Off-spinning allrounder Brock Larance and fast bowler Caelan Maladay, who represented the Cricket Australia XI at last year’s Under 19 championships, join them in the ACT/NSW Country squad.

Sangha and Metro quick Brad Simpson were also part of that CA XI squad last season.

Four Under 17 players from NSW have been selected in the Cricket Australia XI for this year’s Under 19 championships including batsman Ryley Smith and allrounder Nivethan Radhakrishnan.

Smith and Radhakrishnan both represented the Australian Under 16s against Pakistan in Dubai during January.

Blacktown fast bowler Hunar Verma and Sydney quick Hugh Sherriff have also been chosen in that Cricket Australia XI squad.

Fast bowling allrounder from Bowral, Dominic O’Shannessy, 17, is the fifth Cricket NSW Pathway player selected for the CA XI.

O’Shannessy was part of the ACT/NSW Country squad that claimed the Under 19 title last season.

ACT/NSW Country Under 19 squad

Will Fort Central Northern
Nic Broes Western
Kaleb Phillips Greater Illawarra
Brock Larance Western
Henry Railz Western
Glenn Winsor Newcastle
Josh Staines (WK) Riverina
Kain Anderson Newcastle
Angus Jones ACT Southern Districts 
Rupert Lilburne Riverina
Caelan Maladay North Coastal
Harry Townsend Central Coast
Tom Atlee Western
Jackson Gwynne Central Northern

*Kain Anderson replaces Toby Gray due to injury.

*Angus Jones replaces Oliver Cronin due to injury.

NSW Metro Under 19 squad

Lachlan Hearne ( c ) Mosman
Yuvraj Sharma Fairfield-Liverpool
Zeeshaan Ahmed Bankstown
Jack Attenborough UNSW
Tim Reynolds North Sydney
Harry Manenti Sydney
Dhruv Kant Blacktown
Hayden Goulstone Parramatta
Ajay Singh Northern District
Tanveer Sangha Campbelltown-Camden
Brad Simpson Bankstown
Jacob Workman Parramatta
Liam Marshall Bankstown
Josh Baraba Fairfield-Liverpool

*Lachlan Hearne replaces Ollie Davies as captain due to injury, Zeeshaan Ahmed is the replacement player.

Cricket Australia XI

Nivethan Radhakrishnan Hawkesbury
Ryley Smith Penrith
Hunar Verma Blacktown
Hugh Sheriff Sydney
Dom O'Shannessy ACT Southern Districts