NSW Metropolitan has finished runner-up at the Male Under 17 National Championships after it lost to Western Australia by one run in the day-night Final under lights at Harrup Park 1, Mackay, on Thursday.

Despite a valiant 71 from 139 deliveries by opening batter Corey Miller, Metro fell short by the narrowest of margins dismissed for 189 in the 50th over.

Metro started the final over needing a-run-a-ball with one wicket in hand but a run out with three balls to spare ultimately determined the result.

Western Australia was earlier bowled out for 190, also in the final over, after winning the toss and electing to bat.

Wrist spinner Yash Patel (3-18) was one of two Metro bowlers to claim three wickets in the Final finishing the tournament with eight scalps from six matches averaging 21.

Pace bowler Ellis Sherriff also collected 3-31 from 6.4 overs claiming eight wickets throughout the Championships at 17.63.

Fast bowlers Flynn Farquarson and Liam Doddrell also took eight scalps for the tournament, the latter averaging 14. 

Miller was the only Metro batsman to pass fifty with fellow opener Ryley Smith (27 from 28), captain Lachlan Shaw (25 from 32) and Yianni Theodorkopoulos (27 from 26) all making valuable contributions in the tense finale.

Play was stopped in the 44th over due to rain with Metro 6/156 causing a 41-minute delay.

Metro qualified for the Final courtesy of an 82-run win over Victoria in the semi-final with Miller again prominent scoring 82 from 134 balls at the top of the order. Patel also picked up 4-41 from 10.5 overs.

ACT/NSW Country missed the semi-finals after finishing third in Pool B with two wins and two losses but finished fifth overall after wins against Victoria Country and South Australia in the playoffs for the minor placings.

NSW Metro finished equal first with Queensland in Pool A with three wins and one loss.

Left-arm finger spinner Harrison Townsend claimed 15 wickets for ACT/NSW Country throughout the tournament at 15.6 and finished the leading wicket taker.

Ambidextrous allrounder Nivethan Radhakrishnan claimed one of six five-wicket hauls during the tournament with 5-51 against Victoria Country in round three.

He finished the Championships with eight wickets from six matches.

Scorecard here.