Two squads of 13 players have been named to represent Metropolitan NSW at the Under 15 State Challenge to be held from 10-11 December.

Each squad will represent the Sydney Thunder and Sixers Big Bash League franchises. The carnival will be held at Benson’s Lane Sporting Complex, Lower Richmond.

The State Challenge involves four teams including two sides from ACT/NSW Country. Each of these sides will also represent the Sixers and Thunder.

The carnival will act as a final selection trial for the NSW Metro and ACT/NSW Country sides to compete at the Cricket Australia Male Under 15 National Championships. This tournament will be held in Brisbane and the Sunshine Coast during February.

Several of the players selected for Metro Thunder and Sixers to contest the State Challenge have produced significant performances for their districts in the NSW District Cricket Association Under 15 EG Weblin Shield so far this season.

The batting record of Akshat Mishra for Camden has helped his district reach the semi-finals of the competition to be played this Sunday.

Mishra is one of three players selected for the Metro Thunder and Sixers to score over 250 runs and average in excess of 50 during the Weblin Shield this season.

The Metro Sixers’ batter is the second leading run-scorer. He has made 292 runs at 58.4 for the Camden District including a highest score of 180.

Joel Davies (Metro Sixers) and Ryan Swain (Metro Thunder) are the other two batsmen selected in the Metro sides for the State Challenge to score more than 250 runs and average over 50 in the 2018/19 Weblin Shield.

Davies has made 284 runs at 56.8 with a highest score of 145. While, Swain trails the Manly batter by 11 runs on the list of leading run-scorers.

This season Swain has posted 273 runs at 54.6 for the Northern District Junior Cricket Association in the Weblin Shield.

Davies is the younger brother of Basil Sellers Scholar and Manly-Warringah wicketkeeper-batsman, Oliver Davies.

Two of the leading wicket-takers in the Weblin Shield have also been selected for Metro Sixers and Thunder.

Max Becker (Metro Sixers) is on top of that list with 15 scalps at 7.13 from six matches. Samuel Schembri-Green (Metro Thunder) is next best with 13 wickets.

Cricket NSW Under 15 State Challenge, 10-11 December at the Benson’s Lane Sporting Complex, Lower Richmond.

2018 U15 Metro Sixers

Ethan Jamieson St George
Asher Learmonth SEJCA
Joel Davies Manly
Patrick Xie Parramatta
Mahsen Narvel Canterbury Wests
Max Becker Penrith
Sam Konstas St George
Brock Fitton Hawkesbury
Ryan Freeman Bankstown
Owen Cole Camden
Akshat Mishra Camden
Tom Straker Sutherland
Said Adam Obaidi Blacktown


2018 U15 Metro Thunder

Kunj Changela Blacktown
Jonah Trope SEJCA
Flynn Farquharson North Shore (Shore School)
Gaurav Dogra Blacktown
Emmanuel Grogan Canterbury Wests (Trinity Grammar)
Will Salzmann Camden
Harjas Singh Bankstown
Ryan Swain Northern District
Samuel Schembri-Green Northern District
Will Shortis North Shore
James Apostolakis Canterbury Wests (Trinity Grammar)
Shanuk Karandeniya Parramatta
Matthew Sidhu North Shore (St Ignatius)