New South Wales is the best represented state in a 20-player Male Under 15 Cricket Australia XI squad named at the conclusion of the Under 15 National Championships on Thursday on the Sunshine Coast. 

The Under 15 squad will attend a training camp at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in Brisbane during July. The group will then be reduced to 13 cricketers to compete at the Under 17 Male National Championships next season.

Victoria, South Australia and Queensland were the next best represented state each with three players in the squad.

Joel Davies, younger brother of Australian Under 19 representative Ollie Davies, is one of the seven NSW players selected. He led NSW Magenta to the Under 15 national title and finished the tournament as the leading run-scorer with 267 runs at an average of 66.75 including two centuries.

One of those centuries came in the Grand Final win over Queensland. Davies made 103 from 100 balls in the 29-run win. His highest score of 106 came against Victoria Country during the preliminary rounds.

NSW Magenta finished the tournament undefeated from six matches.

Davies was joined by three of his NSW Magenta team mates in the 20-player squad including batters Ethan Jamieson, Gaurav Dogra and fast bowling allrounder William Salzmann.

Jamieson made 232 runs during the carnival at 58.

ACT/NSW Country had two representatives, captain Thomas Coady and left-arm pace bowler Nicholas Toohey.

Coady posted the highest score of the Under 15 National Championships. He made 115 from 139 balls against Northern Territory in round three.

He also joined Davies as one of only two players to make a century at the tournament.

Top-order batter Patrick Xie was the sole representative from the NSW Green team selected in Cricket Australia XI squad.

Cricket Australia Pathway Manager Graham Manou, who played one Test for Australia, said the next six months was an important time in the growth of the young men selected.

“We will continue to work with each State and Territory to support their development holistically while providing the best opportunity for each player to be selected in the final 14 for the U17 National Championships later in September/October," said Manou.

Under 15 Cricket Australia XI squad

Cooper Anthes (Tasmania)

Carl Arnold (South Australia)

Tom Balkin (Queensland)

Liam Blackford (VIC Country)

Tom Coady (ACT/NSW Country)

Joel Davies (NSW Magenta)

Luke Davies (Queensland)

Gaurav Dogra (NSW Magenta)

Luke Holt (Western Australia)

Vincent Huf (VIC Country)

Ethan Jamieson (NSW Magenta)

Harrish Kannan (VIC Metro)

Harry Lemmy (South Australia)

Carter Pearson (Queensland)

William Salzmann (NSW Magenta)

Nick Stathoris (South Australia)

Nicholas Toohey (ACT/NSW Country)

Sam Voss (Tasmania)

Teague Wyllie (Western Australia)

Patrick Xie (NSW Green)

Award Winners

Player of the Championships: Harrish Kannan (Vic Metro)

Leading Run Scorer: Joel Davies (NSW Magenta)

Leading Wicket Taker: Carter Pearson (Queensland) and Raheel Boston (Vic Metro)

Most Dismissals by a Fielder: Liam Blackford (Vic Country)

Spirit of Cricket Award: Northern Territory