The four squads to compete at the inaugural Under 13 Female State Challenge during January have been selected.

The Under 13 carnival will be played in conjunction with the Under 13 and 14 Boys’ State Challenge in Dubbo and Wellington from 21-22 January.

The competition has been made possible by the financial support of the NSW ICC World T20 2020 Cricket Legacy Fund.

Four teams will compete at the Under 13 Female State Challenge. Each of the Sydney Big Bash League clubs – the Thunder and Sixers – will be represented by two teams.

NSW Metro and ACT/NSW Country will each have a team under the Thunder and Sixers banner.

NSW Metro Under 15 representative Olivia Maxwell – daughter of former NSW Blues allrounder Neil Maxwell – captains the Sixers team for her region.

The North Shore allrounder was the leading wicket taker in the NSW Districts Cricket Association Under 13 Mollie Dive Shield completed in late November. She claimed 12 wickets at an average of 6.5, including best figures of 5/9.

Maxwell was also the second leading run-scorer in the Mollie Dive Shield. She made 262 runs at 65.5.

She trailed Sutherland batter Ella-Jane Briscoe by 181 runs. The Metro Thunder captain made 443 runs from seven innings at the amazing average of 147.67.

Her outstanding tally included two centuries and two fifties. Her highest score was 130 not out.

Leading ACT player Grace Lyons will captain a promising Country Thunder squad made up from all four regions of the Thunder Territory; ACT/Southern Districts, Greater Illawarra, Western and Riverina.

Perri Nash, the grand-daughter of legendary coach Warren Smith, and Sophie Taufel, daughter of former International umpire, Simon Taufel, will both join Lyons in the Country Thunder squad.

Newcastle cricketer Kate McTaggart will captain the Country Sixers team.

Under 13 Female State Challenge Teams

Metro Thunder
Ella-Jane Briscoe ( c ) Sutherland
Makayla Alexander Mortdale Heights
Annika Karlsson Mortdale Heights
Chloe Kells Penrith
Bianca Lozell Sutherland
Maeve Martin Bankstown
Kate Pelle Penrith
Brinly Peters Bankstown
Abbie Purvis Bankstown
Stephanie O’Sullivan Mortdale Heights
Mridula Thirupathy Bankstown
Makenzie Wheeler Penrith
Lucy Wilson Parramatta
Coach: Ron Woods


Metro Sixers
Olivia Maxwell ( c ) North Shore
Samira Dimeglio Sydney
Olivia Callaghan North Shore
Elizabeth Cambridge Gordon
Sara Chun Gordon
Lily Dorahy North Shore
Laura Metry Summer Hill
Chloe Osborne Manly
Kate Salmon Forrest
Caitlin Schofield Sutherland
Bethany Tate Gordon
Hayley Zauch Leichhardt
Anita Zoran North Shore
Coach: Kate Owen


Country Thunder
Grace Lyons ( c ) ACT/Southern Districts
Keisha Baldwin Greater Illawarra
Callee Black Western
Alice Caldow Riverina
Rachael Carroll ACT/Southern Districts
Charlie Lamont Riverina
Kaitlan Logan Riverina
Teleitha O'Byrne Western
Perri Nash Riverina
Maddison Spence Western
Sophie Taufel Greater Illawarra
Annalee Watson Greater Illawarra
Lily Wilstrop Greater Illawarra
Coach: Rebecca Maher and Carolyn Sheehan


Country Sixers
Kate McTaggart ( c ) Newcastle
Mia Cook Newcastle
Sophie Cook Newcastle
Chelsea Hackenburg North Coastal
Emily Hosking North Coastal
Emily Humphries Central Coast
Laura Parsons North Coastal
Lucy Pearce Newcastle
Megan Pierce North Coastal
Annika Vallette North Coastal
Ava Ryan North Coastal
Jessica Sinclair Newcastle
Jessica Dowling Newcastle
Replacement: Charli O’Bryne
Coach: Kate Jackson