NSW Metro selectors have named the squads to compete at the Under 13 and 14 Boys’ State Challenge carnival to be held from 21-24 January in Dubbo.

In each age group, four Metropolitan squads of 13 players have been selected. Two sides from each division will represent each of the Sydney Big Bash League franchises, the Thunder and Sixers.

The ACT/NSW Country teams for the carnival are yet to be selected.

The young cricketers selected represent the best talent that is emerging through the early stages of the Cricket NSW Pathways system.

Camden batter Akshat Mishra is one of those players. As a 14-year-old player, he was the second leading run-scorer in the NSW District Cricket Association Under 15 EG Weblin Shield.

He scored 341 runs at an average of just under 50 with a highest score of 180. Mishra also plays Third and Fourth Grade cricket for Campbelltown-Camden in the McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket competition.

Daniel Gauci, the younger brother of NSW Blues rookie Jordan, is another stand out batter selected for the Under 14 division.

Gauci averaged 119.5 during the inter-district Under 14 Harold Moore Shield this season.

Dylan Ranjan and James Moore are two of the many talented Under 13 players selected.

Ranjan was the leading wicket taker in the NSWDCA Under 13 Gee Shield. He claimed an amazing 30 wickets at 9.43, including four five-wicket hauls, for the Hornsby Ku-rung-gai & Hills District Cricket Association.

Ranjan was selected for the State Challenge from outside the Cricket NSW Academy program.

Moore, who is playing for Sydney in the AW Green Shield and Fifth Grade competitions in NSW Premier Cricket, was the leading run-scorer in the Gee Shield this season. He made 360 runs at 72.

Under 13 & 14 Boys’ State Challenge teams

U14 Thunder Green
Name DCA
Daniel Gauci Blacktown
Brock Campbell Penrith
Oliver Sheekey Parramatta
Harjas Singh Bankstown
Cody Robinson Penrith
Arnav Raina Bankstown
Dewashish Adhikari Canterbury and Wests
Abhaypal Singh Blacktown
Reegan Wilson Penrith
Ankit Sapotka Camden
Bailey Penna Bankstown
Aikaansh Ahi Blacktown
Luke Meek Camden
U14 Thunder Black
Name DCA
Ryan Hicks Hawkesbury
Cameron Tunks HK&HDCA
Hayden McDonald Blacktown
Felix Booth Northern Districts
Akshat Mishra Camden
Manoj Weerasingham Camden
Nicholas Freedman Blacktown
Kade Zammit Penrith
Manas Bansal HK&HDCA
Connor McEwen Fairfield
Lachlan Campbell Camden
Ethan Simpson Canterbury and Wests
Farhan Islam Canterbury and Wests
U14 Sixers Pink
Name DCA
Edson Whattam Penrith
Max Robinson Sutherland
Jonah Trope SEJCA
Rafael MacMillan St George
Ashton Simmonds Sutherland
Charlie Anderson North Shore
Matthew Sidhu North Shore
Daniel McSweeny SEJCA
Sebastian Bush Manly
Milo May Manly
Maxim Brooks SEJCA
Nicholas Everitt Inner West Harbour
Anthony Bartlett HK&HDCA
U14 Sixers Black
Name DCA
Hamish Morrison SEJCA
Alexander Parthenis St George
Sam Konstas St George
Daimon Pin North Shore
Trystan Kennedy North Shore
Luke Cutcliffe Sutherland
Hwi Sharples Inner West Harbour
Tom Straker Sutherland
Luke Harrison North Shore
Luke Callanan North Shore
Adam Coombs Sutherland
Henry James SEJCA
William McFadden HK&HDCA
U13 Thunder Green
Name DCA
James Moore Canterbury and Wests
Tanay Tripathi Hawkesbury
Pete Murray HK&HDCA
Sidhant Singh HK&HDCA
Joel Wright Parramatta
Dylan Melvey SEJCA
Shaurya Gupta Hawkesbury
Coby Holland Camden
Harjapan Singh Bankstown
Harveer Dhaliwal Penrith
Xavier Nath Blacktown
Lucas Sassen HK&HDCA
Daniel Louka Bankstown
U13 Thunder Black
Name DCA
Ethan Anderson Canterbury and Wests
Andrew Salian Camden
Addison Sheriff Canterbury and Wests
Jordan Netto HK&HDCA
Nikhil Thokala Blacktown
Kyle Wheeler Hawkesbury
William Walker SEJCA
Benji Harris Inner West Harbour
Riley Davidson Canterbury and Wests
Dylan Ranjan HK&HDCA
Isaac Gasson Camden
Declan Fitzpatrick Inner West Harbour
Tushar Sharma Blacktown
U13 Sixers Pink
Name DCA
Oliver Carney North Shore
Jake Huthchings Manly
Cooper Edwards Inner West Harbour
Chris Roussos North Shore
Andrew Boulton Manly
Jake St John Sutherland
Toby Laughton Manly
Oliver Patterson SEJCA
James Brown St George
Archie Gowthorp North Shore
Sam Niumataiwalu Sutherland
Josh Cameron Sutherland
Max Nathan SEJCA
U13 Sixers Black
Name DCA
Ben Champion Inner West Harbour
Saul Spyrides Sutherland
Lachlan Ritchie Sutherland
Will McNamara Fairfield-Liverpool
Harry Gianoutsos SEJCA
Jordan Segal SEJCA
Angus McConnell Manly
Jakob Lindberg St George
Jamie Pavey SEJCA
Hamish Reynolds North Shore
Ashton Frazer St George
Roopmehar Dhillon Manly
Joshua Lawson Manly