NSW has continued its recent success at the National Indigenous Cricket Championships in Alice Springs this week claiming titles in both the Women’s and Men’s divisions on Monday.

The NSW Women’s Indigenous team defeated Queensland in the Final to claim a remarkable 13th straight title, while the NSW Men’s team also defeated Queensland in its Final to win its third successive championship.

The Men’s team put in a stunning effort with the ball in the Grand Final, bowling out Queensland for just 46.

It was more of the same in the Women’s Final, earlier on Monday, with the NSW bowling attack proving too strong for Queensland again.

Julie Muir took a tournament best 5-13 as Queensland were bowled out for 72.

Julie Muir on the importance of NICC

Spinner Ben Mitchell (3-7), fast bowler Ben Patterson (3-7) and Brock Larance (2-9) tore through the Queensland top order in the Men’s Final, before NSW chased down Queensland’s total of 46 in 11.5 overs finishing 5/50.

Patterson was named joint Player of the Championships with Tasmania’s Brodie Hayes. He claimed seven wickets at an incredible average of nine.  He also enjoyed a successful tournament with the bat finishing as NSW’s second top scorer behind Tyran Liddiard.

Liddiard, Patterson, Mitchell and fast bowler Djali Bloomfield were all named in the team of the tournament, the Men's Black Caps.

The Grand Final victory saw the NSW Men’s team claim its fourth title in the last five years, and their third in a row.

NSW reached the required runs in 12.4 overs for the loss of just three wickets.

Muir finished the tournament as the leading wicket taker, with eight wickets, while Anika Learoyd topped the batting charts with 123 runs at an average of 61.5.

The NSW Women’s team went through the tournament undefeated.

NSW was also strongly represented in the Women's Black Caps with Anika Learoyd, Dharmini Chauhan, Lara GrahamZoe Fleming all being recognised for outstanding tournaments with selection in the team of the tournament. 

NICC 2020 Award Winners

Spirit of Cricket


Western Australia





Anika Learoyd (NSW)


Tryan Eggmolesse (QLD)



Clodagh Ryall (QLD) / Paige Hatherell (QLD) / Lara Graham (New South Wales)


Brock McLachlan (QLD)



Giselle Parmenter (QLD)


Tryan Liddiard (NSW)

Player of the Championship


Anika Learoyd (NSW)


Ben Patterson (NSW) / Brodie Hayes (TAS)

Women's Black Caps

Anika Learoyd (NSW)

Clodagh Ryall (QLD)

Dharmini Chauhan (NSW)

Kavita Pepper (WA)

Lara Graham (NSW)

Molly Ward (VIC)

Paige Hatherell (QLD)

Regina Deleeuw (WA)

Rheanna Lotter (NT)

Tahlia Meier (VIC)

Taylor Wigg (VIC)

Zoe Fleming (NSW)

Men's Black Caps

Ben Patterson(NSW)

Benjamin Mitchell (NSW)

Brock McLachlan (QLD)

Brodie Hayes (TAS)

Callan Morse (TAS)

Djali Bloomfield (NSW)

Nicholas Boland(VIC)

Nick Taylor (WA)

Preston White (QLD)

Tyran Eggmolesse (QLD)

Tyran Liddiard (NSW)

Wade King(VIC)