With the 20th Cricket NSW awards only two days away, we can announce the four finalists for the prestigious Steve Waugh Medal.

Daniel Hughes

The ever-reliable Daniel Hughes was a rock at the top of the batting line-up. If there’s one thing you must know about Hughesy it’s that he leads by example.

337 runs from 5 Shield matches at an average of 48.14. This included 4 half-centuries and an innings that saw Hughes face the first ball of the match against Queensland and go on to bat throughout the entire NSW innings.

Hayden Kerr

The boy from Bowral. The fisherman. The young gun all-rounder from Sydney University. Hayden Kerr became a household name over the past few months, showing out for both the Blues and Sixers.

Kerr notched up 192 runs from just 7 innings for the Blues, usually coming in towards the tail. With the ball, Kerr took 8 wickets in 4 Shield games, asserting his title as a true all-rounder.

Chris Tremain

Speaking of all-rounders… Chris Tremain was on fire with both bat and ball this season! Many a-time NSW found themselves in trouble at the crease, and many a-time Tremain put together a composed innings to rescue the Blues.

There’s absolutely no going past the fact that ‘Tremor’ took 24 wickets in 5 games, and it showed as Chris was voted by his peers in the Sheffield Shield All Star Team.

Jason Sangha

The classiest cricketer you’ll see in a while. Sangha was asked to take the reins as skipper in NSW’s final Shield outing against South Australia and went on to put in a true captain’s performance, notching a century and half-century in his two at-bats.

504 runs from 7 Shield matches including a century and four half-centuries meant Sangha outscored his nearest fellow Blue by 167 runs.

You’re going to want to stay fixed to the Cricket NSW socials on Thursday, April 7, to see who takes out the Steve Waugh Medal!

Past winners of the Steve Waugh Medal:

2011/12 Steven Smith

2012/13 Gurinder Sandhu

2013/14 Sean Abbott

2014/15 Peter Nevill

2015/16 Nic Maddinson

2016/17 Ed Cowan

2017/18 Daniel Hughes

2018/19 Sean Abbott

2019/20 Daniel Hughes

2020/21 Sean Abbott