Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc and David Warner have all retained their Cricket Australia contracts.

The six NSW Blues were among 20 men to receive Cricket Australia contracts on Thursday. Contracts were awarded based on performances over the last 12 months.

Cummins and Smith are currently the No. 1 Test bowler and batsman according to International Cricket Council rankings.

Smith made 965 Test runs last calendar year at an average of 74.23, just 49 runs behind good mate Marnus Labuschagne on the list of leading Test run-scorers.

Smith’s 2019 record included a highest score of 211 at Old Trafford, Manchester, among three centuries he scored during the Ashes where Australia retained the urn.

He also made two centuries for the Blues during early round wins, which led to them claiming their 47th Sheffield Shield title.

Cummins confirmed his status as Australia’s premier fast bowler over the last 12 months.

Since the beginning of 2019, Cummins has claimed an extraordinary 63 Test wickets at an average of 20 including career best figures of 6-23 against Sri Lanka at the Gabba.

David Warner also enjoyed one of his best summers with the bat and won his third Allan Border Medal in February.

At the Adelaide Oval against Pakistan in late November, Warner made 335 not out, passing two New South Welshmen, Sir Donald Bradman and Mark Taylor, to post the second highest Test score ever by an Australian batsman behind Matthew Hayden’s 380.

In two Tests against Pakistan and three against New Zealand, Warner scored 786 runs averaging 131. He also posted his maiden T20 International century in October against Sri Lanka, also at the Adelaide Oval.

Warner remained 100 not out from 56 balls.

In February, Smith, Hazlewood and Lyon all enjoyed BBL title success with the Sydney Sixers led by Blues allrounder Moises Henriques.   

Cricket Australia Contracted Men’s players

Ashton Agar (Western Australia)

Joe Burns (Queensland)

Alex Carey (South Australia)

Pat Cummins (New South Wales)

Aaron Finch (Victoria)

Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales)

Travis Head (South Australia)

Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland)

Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)

Mitchell Marsh (Western Australia)

Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)

Tim Paine (Tasmania)

James Pattinson (Victoria)

Jhye Richardson (Western Australia)

Kane Richardson (South Australia)

Steve Smith (New South Wales)

Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)

Matthew Wade (Tasmania)

David Warner (New South Wales)

Adam Zampa (South Australia)