Seven NSW Blues players have today been announced as part of Cricket Australia’s list of 17 men’s players to be offered national contracts for 2021-22.

The contracts are primarily assessed on player performances during the past 12 months and identify those whom the National Selection Panel believe will represent Australian teams over the year ahead.

Test bowlers Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Mitch Starc and Nathan Lyon are joined by veteran batsmen David Warner and Steve Smith, as well as white ball star Adam Zampa.

Cricket Australia Contracted Men’s Players List 2021-22:

Ashton Agar (Western Australia)

Alex Carey (South Australia)

Pat Cummins (New South Wales)

Aaron Finch (Victoria)

Cameron Green (Western Australia)

Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales)

Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland)

Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)

Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)

Tim Paine (Tasmania)

James Pattinson (Victoria)

Jhye Richardson (Western Australia)

Kane Richardson (South Australia)

Steve Smith (New South Wales)

Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)

David Warner (New South Wales)

Adam Zampa (New South Wales)

National Selector Trevor Hohns said the list was a powerful one with strength across all formats.

“We have great confidence in the 17 players announced today as the Australian men’s team enters a busy year of high-quality cricket across all three formats which features, among other highlights, an ICC Twenty20 World Cup in India and a home Ashes series,” Hohns said.

“There are two main reasons behind the size of the contract list announced today.

“Firstly, we have seen format specialisation become increasingly prevalent in recent seasons which, accordingly, has resulted in a broader group of players representing Australia, often beyond the initial list of contracted players at the start of each year.

“Secondly, we want to create an environment where players strive for national selection through consistent domestic performances and earn national contracts through consistent international performances.

“There will continue to be opportunities and support for players outside this group to represent Australia and earn an upgrade to a central contract with strong performances throughout the year.

“But in naming these 17 players, we believe we have a strong core group which cover all forms of the game for the 12 months ahead.”