NSW Blues and Sydney Thunder left-arm seamer Daniel Sams is among nine Blues selected in a preliminary 26-man Australian squad for a proposed One-Day and T20 International tour of England in September.

Sams, 27, is selected in his first Australian squad after just 11 List A One-Day matches for the Blues and 37 games in the Big Bash.

He joins Sean Abbott and Australian contracted players Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, and Adam Zampa, in the squad.

A final decision on the tour has not been made and constructive discussions between Cricket Australia, the England and Wales Cricket Board and all relevant government agencies remain ongoing.

Sams was a revelation in the KFC Big Bash League last season, taking 30 wickets at the excellent average of 15.36 for the Sydney Thunder, and finished the tournament as the leading wicket taker. It set a new record for most wickets taken by a bowler in one BBL season.

Since making his List A One-Day debut in September 2018, Sams also impressed in the 50-over format taking 16 wickets in 11 matches, including career best figures of 5-46, against Victoria at the MCG last season.

Sydney Sixers Player of the Tournament during the club’s second BBL title last season, Western Australian young gun Josh Philippe, was also selected in the preliminary squad. The wicketkeeper-batsman made 487 runs at a strike rate of almost 130 during BBL|09.

It is Philippe’s first Australian squad.

Like Sams and Philippe, fast bowler Sean Abbott is rewarded for his consistency. The right-arm quick may receive an opportunity to return to the national One-Day squad after he missed the limited-overs tour of India in January due to a side strain.

Abbott is the all-time second leading wicket taker in BBL history with 99 wickets at 21.21 for the Sixers and the Thunder.

He also has a striking record in One-Day domestic cricket with 97 career wickets at an average of 24.87.

Zampa returns to the Blues this season after seven seasons with South Australia.

In announcing the squad, Cricket Australia’s Executive General Manager of National Teams, Ben Oliver, noted the organisation’s determination to do whatever is necessary to be ready for the tour.

“We continue to work with the ECB and government agencies and a decision on the tour will be made in due course,” Oliver said.

“In the meantime, the identification of a preliminary list will enable us to work with players and states more directly on the preparation for the tour in the hope it can proceed.

“The health and wellbeing of players and staff, along with our commitment to public health within our communities, remain our utmost priority.”

National selector Trevor Hohns said the squad included several exciting young players.

“The preliminary list also has a view towards the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup and in the longer term the 2023 ICC World Cup,” said Hohns.

Provisional Australian squad for possible ODI & T20 tour of England

Sean Abbott (New South Wales)

Ashton Agar (Western Australia)

Alex Carey (South Australia)

Pat Cummins (New South Wales)

Aaron Finch (Victoria)

Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales)

Travis Head (South Australia)

Usman Khawaja (Queensland)

Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland)

Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)

Mitchell Marsh (Western Australia)

Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)

Ben McDermott (Queensland)

Riley Meredith (Tasmania)

Michael Neser (Queensland)

Josh Philippe (Western Australia)

Daniel Sams (New South Wales)

D’Arcy Short (Western Australia)

Kane Richardson (South Australia)

Steven Smith (New South Wales)

Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)

Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia)

Andrew Tye (Western Australia)

Matthew Wade (Tasmania)

David Warner (New South Wales)

Adam Zampa (New South Wales)