NSW Blues stars will be out in force for the opening round of McDonald's Premier Cricket this Saturday with 22 squad members and four rookies facing off across Sydney.

Austin Waugh, son of former Australian Test captain Steve Waugh, and former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson, will play for Sutherland against Campbelltown – Camden.

It will be Waugh’s first senior NSW Premier Cricket appearance as the Basil Sellers scholar continues his rise up the ranks of NSW Cricket. 

NSW rookie Daniel Fallins has also been selected in an impressive Sutherland side.

Eastern Suburbs’ Harry Conway will play against his former club when they face off against Northern District in a star-studded game at Mark Taylor Oval.

Easts will field a number of NSW Blues players with Will Sommerville, Nic Maddinson, Henry Thornton and Peter Nevill all selected.

Nathan Lyon, back from Bangladesh, will play for Northern District as the gun spinner continues his preparations for this year’s Ashes Series.

Reigning Premiers Sydney University will get their title defence underway when they play Gordon at University Oval on Saturday.

Ed Cowan, who has been amongst the runs for the NSW Blues in pre-season, will look to continue his form with University while new NSW fast bowler Charlie Stobo will be out to impress the state selectors when he turns out for Gordon.

Across town at Hurstville Oval Moises Henriques, Trent Copeland and Kurtis Patterson take their place in a strong St George side which will face a Hawkesbury team that includes talented NSW Blues youngster Arjun Nair and rookie Jordan Gauci.

The NSW Blues pace attack will also be on show this Saturday with Sean Abbott to play for Parramatta in a match up against Western Suburbs. NSW promoted rookie Mickey Edwards to play for Manly-Warringah against Penrith while Gurinder Sandhu and Doug Bollinger will play for Fairfield-Liverpool who take on UNSW.

Round one of the NSW McDonald’s Premier Cricket season will be the last hit out for the NSW Blues players before they head to Perth for the JLT One-Day Cup which gets underway next week.



9:30am Saturday 23 September 2017


Bankstown v Mosman at Bankstown Oval. 

Bankstown: Mitch Brown (c), Aaron Bird, Luke Reece, Nathan McAndrew, Ben Le Bas, Daniel Solway, Brendan Smith, Jake Cormack, Kyle Brockley, Andrew Deitz, Benjamin Taylor.

Mosman: Scott Rodgie (c), Anthony Adlam, Danul Dassanayake, Daniel Hughes, Matthew Day, Patrick Pisel, Nicholas White, Kurt Neely, Jake Turner, Sam Sykes, Nathan Doyle.

Umpires: Geoff Irvine & Claire Polosak.


Blacktown v Sydney at Joe McAleer Reserve. 

Blacktown: Daya Singh (c), Nicholas Watkins, Nathan Hinton, Timothy Doonan, Jake Fawcett, Usman Butt, Gabriel Joseph, Daniel Nicotra, Dean Crawford, Cameron Nupier, Kurt Niess.

Sydney: Tom Ortiz (c), Justin Mosca, Benjamin Manenti, Matt Rodgers, Anthony Mosca, Harry Dalton, Beau McClintock, Ryan Felsch, Ryan Corns, Alex Glendenning, Nicholas Bills.

Umpires: Gerard Abood & Roberto Howard.


Campbelltown-Camden v Sutherland at Raby Oval 1. 

Campbelltown-Camden: Jarrad Burke (c), Philip Wells, Aaron Yabsley, Jaydyn Simmons, Jordan Browne, Nathan Baker, Mitchell Carruthers, Luke Webb, Samuel Skelly, Charlie Dummer, Iain Carlisle.

Sutherland: Chris Williams (c), Jarryd Biviano, Shane Watson, Jamie Brown, Tom Doyle, Peter Saroukos, Austin Waugh, Daniel Fallins, Tom Pinson, Jake Wilson, Jayden Brown.

Umpires: Darren Foster & Simon Lightbody.


Northern District v Eastern Suburbs at Mark Taylor Oval. 

Northern District: Andrew Harriott (c), Jonathan Whealing, Neil Kimberley, Henry Hunt, Jonte Pattison, Lachlan Ford, Nathan Lyon, Tom Felton, Ross Pawson, Taylor Scott, Ian Butler.

Eastern Suburbs: Gregory Clarence (c), Harry Conway, Samuel Doggett, George Furrer, Baxter Holt, Nic Maddinson, Ian Moran, Peter Nevill, Jack Preddey, William Somerville, Henry Thornton.

Umpires: Greg Davidson & John Pearce.


Penrith v Manly-Warringah at Howell Oval. 

Penrith: Joshua Lalor (c), Nick Carruthers, Michael Castle, John DiBartolo, Ryan Gibson, Ryan Hackney, Luke Hodges, Jonathon Sammut, Ryan Smith, Jake Wholohan, Brent Williams.

Manly-Warringah: Chris Green (c), Adam Crosthwaite, James Crosthwaite, Ahillen Beadle, Stephen O'Keefe, Ryan Farrell, Mickey Edwards, Taylor Beatty, Jack Edwards, Matthew Alexander, Jay Lenton.

Umpires: Stu Grocock & Anthony Wilds.


Randwick Petersham v North Sydney at Coogee Oval. 

Randwick Petersham: Alexander Kemp (c), Shaun Eaton, Anthony Sams, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha, Adam Semple, Franscois Nesser, Riley Ayre, Jason Hughes, Soumil Chibber, Nick Warren.

North Sydney: Justin Avendano (c), Tim Reynolds, James Newton, Thomas Jagot, Benjamin Bryant, Robert Aitken, Ryan Van Kemenade, David Barber, David Guthrie, James Campbell, Oliver Knight.

Umpires: Keiran Knight & Marc Nickl.


St George v Hawkesbury at Hurstville Oval. 

St George: Trent Copeland (c), Peter Francis, Moises Henriques, Matthew Hopkins, Matthew Lacey, Blake Macdonald, Kurtis Patterson, Jonathan Rose, Dylan Smith, Nicholas Stapleton, Andrew Walsh.

Hawkesbury: Jay Dyball (c), Joshua Clarke, Luke Courtney, Jordan Gauci, Abdul Hameed Kherkhah, Pat Lawrence, Corey Lowe, Dale Mckay, Ryan Mizzi, Arjun Nair, Harrison Ridgewell.

Umpires: Berend du Plessis & Troy Penman.


Sydney University v Gordon at University Oval. 

Sydney University: Liam Robertson (c), Ed Cowan, Hayden Kerr, Damien Mortimer, Ben Trevor-Jones, Tim Cummins, Tim Ley, Darius Visser, Joe Kershaw, Tom Kierath, Ben Joy.

Gordon: Steve Colley (c), Tym Crawford, Sohan Boralessa, Axel Cahlin, Ashley Doolan, Cameron Eccles, Harry Evans, Alex Patterson, Elliot Richtor, Daniel Smith, Charlie Stobo.

Umpires: Andrew Hamilton & Zaheer Nazir.


UNSW v Fairfield-Liverpool at Alan Davidson Oval. 

UNSW: David Dawson (c), James Henry, Rico du Plessis, Nicholas Walker, Matthew  Gilkes, Jack Scriven, Marcus Atallah, Sibghat Khan, Hayden McLean, Declan White, Joshua Bennett.

Fairfield-Liverpool: Gurinder Sandhu (c), Douglas Bollinger, Jeremy Cashman, Anthony Clark, Wendel Delpechitra, Viraj Kadam, Luke Ohrynowsky, Chad Sammut, Harmon Sandhu, Raveesh Srivastava, Param Uppal.

Umpires: Gary Crombie & Phil Rainger.


Western Suburbs v Parramatta at Pratten Park. 

Western Suburbs: Jonathan Cook (c), Alec Baldwin, Isaac Taylor, Nicholas Cutler, Adrian Isherwood, Daniel Hayes, James Shepherd, Darren Bourke, Jehangir Ali.

Parramatta: Nick Bertus (c), Ben Abbott, Brenton Cherry, Sean Abbott, Adam Turrell, Luke Dempsey, Trent Crittenden, Will Affleck, Scott Copperfield, Owen Simonsen, Ben Martin.

Umpires: Graeme Glazebrook & Glen Stubbings.