For the second round in a row the Plan B Regional Bash will feature a grudge match under lights.

The Central West Wranglers will meet reigning champions the Orana Outlaws at Wade Park in Orange on Saturday night for the continuation of Thunder Conference Pool 2.

It appears a lopsided encounter given the Outlaws are current title holders and the Wranglers are yet to win a match in a competition now midway through its third season.

However, with the scrapping of the marquee player system this season the Outlaws don’t have former Sheffield Shield player Nathan Pilon making the trip from Victoria while NSW Country Player of the Year Jordan Moran is out after undergoing surgery on a broken thumb recently.

The Wranglers and Outlaws meeting under lights follows the recent history-making clash when the Murrumbidgee Rangers hosted the Southern Riverina Vipers at Exies Oval Griffith.

While the final of the Plan B Regional Bash is always played under lights at the Sydney Cricket Ground, this was a first for an early round game in the competition.

Thunder Conference Pool 2 began late last month when the ACT Aces easily beat the South Coast Crew at Manuka Oval.

With the new round-robin format this season, the Crew remain in the competition and will play the Wranglers and the Outlaws on Sunday.

The winner of this pool will play the Wagga Wagga Sloggers in the Thunder Conference final, at the SCG on 10 December as part of a big finals day, with the victor going on to meet the Sixers Conference champion in a play-off for the Plan B Regional Bash title under lights.

The Outlaws will rely on cult figure Ben Strachan, the Bourke Bruiser; Anthony “Rabbs” Heraghty, a classy batman and leg-spinner; Greg Buckley, a clever English allrounder who now calls Dubbo home, and Wes “Wackem” Giddings, big-hitting top order batman and tight slow left armer.

The Wranglers have Josh Toole, a seasoned Twenty20 gun; Luke Powell and Ben Parsons, who are exciting young fast bowlers and Ryan Peacock, a clever slow bowler who is the brother of NSW seamer Trent Copeland.

Adelaide Strikers players to watch include captain Matt Condon, a classy batman; talented allrounder Ethan Bartlett and exciting young talent Daniel Leerdam.

There have been changes to the original South Coast Crew squad, with Brynley Richards a brilliant fieldsman and classy allrounder one of the players to watch.

Others include Josh Ryrie a big-hitting batsman, and his solid batting partners Michael Perry and Reece Nikitaras.

Thunder Conference Pool 2 Schedule

Saturday 7pm

Central West Wranglers v Orana Outlaws – Wade Park


Round 2 - Sunday 9.30am                         

Orana Outlaws v ACT Aces                                                   Riawena Oval

Central West Wranglers v South Coast Crew                    Wade Park


Round 3 - Sunday 1.30pm                       

Orana Outlaws v South Coast Crew                                    Riawena Oval

Central West Wranglers v ACT Aces                                   Wade Park