Star allrounder Ellyse Perry and versatile Blues batsman Daniel Hughes were the major winners at the 16th Annual Cricket NSW Awards dinner attended by hundreds of guests at Sydney’s Hyatt Regency on Thursday night.


Perry claimed her second Belinda Clark Medal in three years for the best female player in NSW while Hughes won his first Steve Waugh Medal as the best male player.


Rated the best female batter and allrounder in the world by the International Cricket Council, Perry was also voted the Sydney Sixers’ most valuable player in the Rebel Women’s Big Bash League after captaining the side to a second successive title.


Perry’s 552 runs at an average of 46 topped the WBBL|03 run-scoring as her game continued to blossom, with the responsibility of captaincy bringing the best out of her.


In a highly productive season she also topped the Women’s National Cricket League run-scoring with 372 runs at 74.40.


Hughes continued his good form of the previous season with another excellent one-day tournament, scoring heavily at the top of the order. His 379 runs at an average of 63.17 included two centuries and a top score of 122. It was virtually identical to his performance a year earlier.


The elegant left-hander also had another consistent season in the JLT Sheffield Shield, scoring 661 runs at an average of better than 41. Hughes had a number of strong starts but was unable to convert any into centuries despite getting close, including a top score of 98 not out when he ran out of partners. 


Rachel Haynes shaded Perry to be named the Lendlease Breakers’ Most Valuable Player in a season where the Breakers claimed their 19th title in the 22-year history of the Women’s National Cricket League.


The acting Australian captain has been strong in all teams and forms, scoring 363 runs at 90.75 in the WNCL with a highest score of 103 not out.


Haynes was also MVP for the Sydney Thunder in the WBBL, leading the Thunder’s run-scoring with 426 runs at an average greater than 30 and a highest score of 78 not out. It was her best performance in three seasons for the Sydney Thunder and at the best strike rate.


Veteran Trent Copeland claimed the Blues’ JLT Sheffield Shield MVP following another excellent season, taking 34 wickets at an average of 25.


In an era where his high profile fast-bowling partners rule with pace as well as skill, Copeland has perfected the subtle arts of persistent swing and seam bowling.

Nic Maddinson was named the JLT Cup One-Day MVP.


At his best Maddinson is one of the most dangerous domestic white ball cricketers in Australia. His dynamic stroke play has given him three big one-day seasons in a row for NSW, with his 389 runs at 66.33 this season the best.


He scored two hundreds and with Daniel Hughes had three century opening partnerships.


Sydney Thunder captain Shane Watson won the Mike Hussey Medal as his team’s best player.


Leading from the front with a consistent batting performance, his 331 runs at almost 37 was by far the best of any Thunder player. He finished in the top five run scorers for the BBL.


English import Sam Billings was the Sydney Sixers MVP.


He saved his best until last as he and the Sydney Sixers overcame a difficult start to BBL07.


Billings smashed an unbeaten 61 from just 31 balls against the Hurricanes in Hobart before being recalled to England for national duties. It was his third score over 30 in six matches.



Sixers BBL MVP

  1. Sam Billings
  2. Jordan Silk
  3. Ben Dwarshuis
  4. Sean Abbott


  1. Ellyse Perry
  2. Dane Van Niekerk
  3. Alyssa Healy
  4. Erin Burns                               

Thunder BBL MVP

  1. Shane Watson
  2. Chris Green
  3. Fawad Ahmed
  4. Arjun Nair

Thunder WBBL MVP

  1. Rachael Haynes
  2. Rene Farrell
  3. Nicola Carey
  4. Alex Blackwell


  1. Rachael Haynes
  2. Ellyse Perry
  3. Alyssa Healy
  4. Alex Blackwell

JLT One Day Cup MVP

  1. Nic Maddinson
  2. Daniel Hughes
  3. Mitchell Starc
  4. Doug Bollinger

JLT Sheffield Shield MVP

  1. Trent Copeland
  2.  Stephen O’Keefe
  3. Daniel Hughes
  4. Mitchell Starc                     

Belinda Clark Medal

  1. Ellyse Perry
  2.  Rachael Haynes
  3. Alyssa Healy
  4. Rene Farrell                         

Steve Waugh Medal

  1. Daniel Hughes
  2. Trent Copeland
  3. Nic Maddinson
  4. Mitchell Starc