The annual Parliamentary Friends of Cricket breakfast was held recently at the Sydney Cricket Grounds to mark the start of the 2017/18 season.

Hosted by Cricket NSW and Parliamentary Friends of Cricket Co-Chairs Mr Chris Patterson MP (Member for Camden) and Ms Jo Haylen MP (Member for Summer Hill), NSW Ministers and Members of Parliament enjoyed freshly brewed coffee and a light breakfast while mingling with Cricket NSW staff and cricketers Doug Bollinger, Nicola Carey, Harry Conway, Ed Cowan, Maisy Gibson, Kurtis Patterson, Lauren Smith and Hannah Thethewy.


Into its third season, the Parliamentary Friends of Cricket group is committed to supporting the growth of cricket in NSW as the game plays an important role in bringing communities together.

“With Members of Parliament here today representing various parties, there sure is one thing about cricket – it unifies everybody”, Mr Chris Patterson said.

“Jo and I are proud to Co-Chair the Parliamentary Friends of Cricket group and we want to congratulate Cricket NSW Chairman John Warn, the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Andrew Jones for leading the way in sport through the professionalisation of women’s cricket and the continuing success of our NSW Men’s & Women’s teams”.  

“Cricket NSW is extremely grateful for its long-standing partnership with NSW Government and major partner, Transport for NSW,” Andrew Jones said.

“Our success both on and off the field would not be possible without your ongoing support. We are delighted that you are as equally committed to making cricket number one in NSW and NSW number one in Australian Cricket”.