Nine New South Wales based players have been announced in Cricket Australia’s 37-player training squad ahead of the ICC Under 19 Men’s Cricket World Cup. The 2022 tournament will be held in the West Indies early next year.

Aidan Cahill, Joel Davies, Liam Doddrell, Corey Miller, and William Salzmann will be joined by NSW Blues Rookie Jack Nisbet, alongside Lachlan Shaw, Ryley Smith, and Nicholas Toohey in the squad, who will gather in Adelaide in December. 

A final squad of 15 will be selected for the World Cup.

Twenty-nine players from the squad will have the opportunity to showcase their skills in a series of practice matches at Karen Rolton Oval on December 6, 7 and 9.

Those not present in Adelaide will still be available for World Cup selection, with several players expected to be involved in a second XI fixture between Western Australia and Tasmania at the same time.

Australia have been drawn in Group D and will officially open the tournament when they take on the West Indies on Friday, January 14 at the Guyana National Stadium.

Australia will then play Sri Lanka and Scotland to round-out their group matches.

Sixteen countries will take part in the 14th edition of the tournament that will be shared across four Caribbean nations for the first time ever, with the 48-match schedule to be played over 23 days of competition.

The format will see the top two teams from each of the four groups advance to the Super League while the remaining teams compete in the Plate.

The group stage will take place between January 14 and 22, before the knock-out stage begins on January 25 ahead of a February 5 Final at Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua.

“As a collective, we have benefited immensely from strong development systems within each State and Territory and look forward to the opportunity of bringing our top U19 talent together in Adelaide ahead of the World Cup."

Australian U19 Training Squad

Harkirat Bajwa (VIC – Melbourne CC)

Thomas Balkin (QLD – Toombul CC)

Liam Blackford (VIC – Geelong CC)

Xander Buxton (VIC – Melbourne CC)

Aidan Cahill (NSW – Newcastle City CC)

Cooper Connolly (WA – Scarborough CC)

Joel Davies (NSW – Manly Warringah DCA)

Nicholas Davis (TAS – North Hobart CC)

Liam Doddrell (NSW – St Clair CC)

Joshua Garner (VIC – Geelong CC)

Kobe Herft (VIC – Melbourne CC)

Isaac Higgins (SA – Glenelg CC)

Vincent Huf (VIC – Grampians CC)

Marcus Jackman (VIC – Melbourne CC)

Campbell Kellaway (VIC – Melbourne CC)

Seamus Keogh (VIC – Mildura Settlers CC)

Dylan Kritzinger (QLD – Redlands CC)

Reiley Mark (VIC – Monash CC)

Harry Matthias (SA – Sturt CC)

Noah McFadyen (QLD – Northern Suburbs DCC)

Corey Miller – NSW – Northern District CC)

Darcy Munro (VIC – Melbourne CC)

Thomas Nelson (VIC – Camberwell CC)

Jack Nisbet (NSW – Sydney CC)

Zac Phair (TAS – University of Tasmania)

Nivethan Radhakrishnan (TAS – Hawkesbury DCC/Kingborough DCC)

Sam Rahaley (SA – Kensington)

William Salzmann (NSW – Campbelltown-Camden DCC)

Lachlan Shaw (NSW – Northern Districts CC)

Jackson Sinfield (QLD – Redlands CC)

Ryley Smith (NSW - Penrith CC)

Tobias Snell (QLD – Toombul CC)

Aubrey Stockdale (QLD – Toombul CC)

Nicholas Toohey (NSW – Terrigal Matcham CC/Gordon CC)

Corey Wasley (WA – Rockingham-Mandurah CC)

Tom Whitney (QLD – Western Suburbs CC)

Teague Wyllie (WA – Rockingham-Mandurah CC)


ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup Groupings

Group A - Bangladesh, England, Canada, United Arab Emirates

Group B - India, Ireland, South Africa, Uganda 

Group C - Afghanistan, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Zimbabwe 

Group D - Australia, Scotland, Sri Lanka, West Indies


Australia’s ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup Group Matches

Jan 14: West Indies v Australia, Guyana National Stadium

Jan 17: Australia v Sri Lanka, Conaree Cricket Center

Jan 19: Australia v Scotland, Conaree Cricket Center