Six NSW Blues players dominate the 15-player Australian squad announced today for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup in Oman and the UAE.

Pat Cummins is the squad’s vice-captain and is joined by fellow fast bowlers Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc, spinner Adam Zampa and superstar batters Steve Smith and David Warner.

Two more NSW-based players - Daniel Sams and Dan Christian - have both been named as travelling reserves.

George Bailey, the team’s Chair of Selectors, was buoyant about the squad’s potential.

“We are confident this squad has the ability to take the side deep into what will be an extremely competitive tournament,” Bailey said.

“We have some of the best players in the world in their respective roles combined with the collective experience to succeed against the very best T20 sides in the world.”

Cummins and Warner return to the squad having missed the recent tours of the West Indies and Bangladesh, while Smith returns from an elbow injury.

“We look forward to having all of these players available both from a playing perspective and the experience they bring to International tournaments,” Bailey said.

Fast bowler Hazlewood’s impressive form on his return to the T20 side last summer and in the West Indies and Bangladesh led to his inclusion to complete the pace attack alongside Cummins, Starc and South Australian Kane Richardson.

Some of the squad are expected to take part in the second half of the Indian Premier League (IPL) prior to the tournament while others will prepare with their respective states.

The squad is due to depart for the UAE in late September or early October.

Australia's T20 World Cup Squad:

Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria)

Ashton Agar (Western Australia)

Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)

Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales)

Josh Inglis (Western Australia)

Mitchell Marsh (Western Australia)

Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)

Kane Richardson (South Australia)

Steve Smith (New South Wales)

Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)

Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia) 

Mitchell Swepson (Queensland)

Matthew Wade (Tasmania)

David Warner (New South Wales)

Adam Zampa (New South Wales)

Travelling Reserves: Dan Christian (New South Wales), Nathan Ellis (Tasmania), Daniel Sams (New South Wales).