Four players from the successful Australian Under 19 squad at the recent Emerging Women Tri-Series in South Africa are among a host of rising stars named in the Under 15 and Under 18 Female NSW Metropolitan squads to compete at each respective National Championships during the 2018/19 season.

Under 18 squad members, Sydney Thunder allrounder Hannah Darlington (Campbelltown-Camden), Hayley Silver-Holmes (Parramatta), Stella Campbell (Universities), and wicketkeeper-batter Maddy Darke (Universities), all featured during that tri-series which also involved the England Women’s Academy, and finalists, the South African Emerging Women.

Eleven members of the Under 18 squad competed at the National Championships last season. The team will be aiming to add the 50-over title to the T20 crown won at the 2017/18 competition to complete the double this upcoming season.

These players include Darlington, Silver-Holmes, Campbell, Darke, allrounder Olivia Porter (Universities), Isabelle Afaras (Northern District), Angelina Genford (Bankstown Sports), Mariam Bank (St George-Sutherland), Kristen McCormack (Parramatta), Dharmini Chauhan (Campbelltown-Camden) and Sarah Turner (Northern District).

The Under 15 squad includes three players from the NSW Metro team that competed at the national titles last season, Hayley Elliott (Bankstown Sports), Zoya Thakur (Parramatta) and Claire Moore (Penrith) with four players under 14 also selected.

The Under 18 tournament will held from 14-26 January in the regional Victorian towns of Bendigo and Ballarat. Ballarat will host the 50-over component of the competition and Bendigo will stage the 20-over section.

The Under 15 National Championships will be moved from January to March and held in the ACT.

Cricket NSW Female Talent Manager of High Performance, Steve Jenkin, said that both squads will train twice a week at Blacktown International Sports Park and the SCG before playing in trial games which will determine the eventual teams.

Jenkin said that several players from the Under 15 team that competed at the 2017/18 National Championships will again represent the NSW Metro at the 2018/19 Under 18 Australian titles.

“Six of last year’s outstanding Metro Under 15 team join (the) squad,” said Jenkin.

They are Genford, Silver-Holmes, Emily Lawler (Bankstown Sports), Shivani Mehta (Northern District), Kate Peterson (Parramatta) and Molly Godsell (Parramatta).

Campbell was the equal fourth leading wicket-taker at the Emerging Women Tri-Series held during April. The 15-year-old fast bowler collected nine wickets at 17.11 including a pivotal 2-39 in the Final against the South African Emerging Women.

Darlington had the best economy rate of the Australian Under 19 bowlers during the tri-series. She claimed just the two wickets but conceded only 3.17 runs per over.

Silver-Holmes was also handy with bat in hand throughout the tournament. She scored 58 runs from three visits to the crease averaging 29.00 and at the impressive strike rate of 116.00.

The allrounder earned player of the tournament at the 2017/18 Under 15 National Championships, courtesy of some outstanding form batting in the middle-order. She amassed 350 runs at the incredible average of 87.5.

Jenkin said that the Under 15 group has several fresh faces in the 2018/19 squad.

Among those players include Ananaya Sharma (Summer Hill) and Grace Pooley (Parramatta), who both impressed with the ball during the recent Under 15 State Challenge held at Raby Sports Complex in April.

Sharma was the equal leading wicket-taker with Kinjal Kumari (Gordon), and leading wicket-taker for NSW Metro at the 2017/18 Under 15 National Championships, Jade Allen.

All three cricketers claimed three wickets. Sharma collected her scalps at the excellent average of 9.33, while Kumari returned even better figures.

She claimed three wickets during the Under 15 State Challenge at the exceptional average of 8.33 and scored 72 runs being dismissed just once.

Kumari was one of the most outstanding performers at the State Challenge. She finished the competition as not only the equal leading wicket-taker, but was also among the top five run-scorers for the tournament.

Pooley was also amongst the wickets during this tournament. She returned only the two wickets but averaged just 6.00 with the ball and maintained a very tidy economy rate of three runs per over.

Moore was the leading run-scorer at the Under 15 State Challenge. She compiled 79 runs from two innings and was not dismissed during the tournament.


Under 18 NSW Metropolitan Squad

Hannah Darlington Campbelltown-Camden
Olivia Porter Universities
Hayley Silver-Holmes Parramatta
Isabelle Afaras Northern District
Stella Rae Campbell Universities
Angelina Genford Bankstown Sports
Maddy Darke Universities
Dharmini Chauhan Campbelltown-Camden
Mariam Bank St George-Sutherland
Emily Lawler Bankstown Sports
Elise Noble Parramatta
Isabella Malgioglio Parramatta
Kate Peterson Parramatta
Kelsey Myers Parramatta
Kristen McCormack Parramatta
Molly Godsell Parramatta
Niamh Bullen Northern District
Sarah Turner Northern District
Shivani Mehta Northern District
Stephanie Ellsmore Campbelltown-Camden
Sarah Abdulwahab Campbelltown-Camden
Olivia Fanning Gordon


Under 15 NSW Metropolitan Squad

Aarya Shipurkar Universities
Alice Whelan St George-Sutherland
Ananaya Sharma Summer Hill
Bo Burton Gordon
Charlotte Camburn Gordon
Chelsea McLerie Manly-Warringah
Claire Moore Penrith
Eloise Williams Penrith
Francesca Buffa Gordon
Grace Bryson-Smith Sydney
Grace Pooley Parramatta
Hayley Elliott Bankstown Sports
Imogen Falzon Parramatta
Kaitlyn Drinkwater Bankstown Sports
Kinjal Kumari Gordon
Kyah Reibelt Parramatta
Lauren Kua Gordon
Lily Hodge Sydney
Robyn Medley Forest District
Sienna James Manly-Warringah
Sinduja Sureshkumar Sydney
Sophie Martland Gordon
Zoya Thakur Parramatta


Please see here for the Cricket NSW Female Metropolitan Academy Squads selected for the Under 17, Under 14 and Under 13 age groups.