NSW city and country players make up more than a third of the preliminary Under 19 World Cup squad.

Seven players from NSW Metro and three from ACT/NSW Country are amongst 28 players named for next year’s tournament.

They will have a chance to impress during next month’s Under 19 National Championships to be played in Hobart and Launceston.

Following the Championships the squad will be reduced to 15.

Six players in the extended squad have played in the JLT One-Day Cup over the past two summers including exciting NSW teenagers Param Uppal and Jason Sangha, who both represented the Cricket Australia XI.

 “There’s some exceptional talent coming through the Pathway right now, and it really is going to be a tough task to narrow down our Under 19 World Cup squad to just 15 players,” CA Pathways Manager Graham Manou said.

“In this preliminary squad, we have a really good balance of batting and bowling talent and plenty of players with strong all-round capabilities, including Param Uppal, who has had a taste of domestic cricket in the past 12 months.

“These players have been identified by the State Talent Managers over their efforts at previous events – the Under 19 international series against Sri Lanka in April, last summer’s Under 17 and Under 19 National Championships, Rookie Camps and performances at club and district level.”

The final squad will have former Test players Matthew Elliott as coach and Ryan Harris as assistant coach, with the duo to keep a close on the Under 19 National Championships alongside the Youth Selection Panel.

Australia Under 19 World Cup preliminary squad:

Iain Carlisle, Matthew Gilkes, Jason Sangha (ACT/NSW Country)

Jack Edwards, Ryan Hackney, Ryan Hadley, Baxter Holt, Lawrence Neil-Smith, Param Uppal, Austin Waugh (NSW Metro)

Xavier Bartlett, Max Bryant, Mitchell Connolly, Blake Edwards, Harrison Macoun, Nathan McSweeney, Harrison Wood (QLD)

Thomas O’Connell, Lloyd Pope (SA)

Jarrod Freeman (TAS)

Patrick Rowe (VIC Country)

Zak Evans, Jonathan Merlo, Edward Newman, Will Sutherland (VIC Metro)

Cameron Green, Bradley Hope, Matthew Spoors (WA)