Sharad Patel has taken out the NSWCUSA’s highest honour – the George Borwick Memorial Award – for the second time at the Association’s Annual Dinner and Awards night in Bankstown on Saturday.

With just 0.33 points separating the top six, the award highlights an outstanding season for Patel, which saw him umpire in the Women's Big Bash League and Women's National Cricket League as well as a Second XI fixture and the Men's NSW Premier Cricket Second Grade Final.

The points system for the Borwick Award points are allocated for attending the pre-season rules night, the Annual Convention, monthly meetings during the season, availability to officiate Men’s Premier Cricket and the match average from captains' marks during the season.

Patel first won the award in 2017-18, the season in which he made his First Grade debut. 

Over 170 members and guests attended the evening at Bankstown Sports Club which celebrated the 2020-21 summer and the achievements of members across the state and around the country.

Far North Coast Cricket Umpires’ and Scorers’ Association member Pat Holt was awarded the E. F. Wykes OAM Association Medal for excellence and commitment to an affiliated association.

Holt performed strongly across the season officiating the NSW Women’s Regional Bash Final, at North Sydney Oval, as well as the Under 16 Bradman Cup carnival in Tamworth.

He also oversaw matches in all rounds of local competitions on the Far North Coast – the LJ Hooker League, the Coastal League and the Northern Rivers Cricket League.

The Malcolm Gorham Scorers’ Award was presented to joint-winners for the first time. Sydney University Cricket Club’s John Kilford and UNSW CC’s Janelle Carew were unable to be separated, recognising the significant contribution they both make to their club as scorers.

Graeme Glazebrook received the Kevin Pye Medal for Country Umpire of the Year for a record-breaking sixth time during a season where he again umpired the Finals of the Men's Plan B Regional Bash and the Country Championships.

The best umpire from each of the Men’s Premier Cricket Umpire Panels were also recognised and celebrated on the night.

Darren Goodger received the Panel One Award for the eleventh time and sixth in a row, completing a second consecutive season with a match average of five out of five captains' marks.

David Abbey won the Panel Two Award, with an average of 4.72 out of five captains' marks across a season in which he debuted in First Grade.

The Panel Three Award was presented to Allan Owens, who debuted and umpired five matches in Second Grade, finishing the season with an average of 4.76 captains' marks.

Nathan Harvey marked his second season of umpiring with a Third Grade debut and the Panel Four Award, averaging 4.5 captains' marks across 12 matches during the season.

Special presentations were made to former representative scorers Christine Bennison and Kay Wilcoxon, Life Member Graham Reed and former Cricket NSW General Manager, Cricket Performance David Moore to commemorate their work for and support of the Association over a prolonged period.

Sarah Berman (List A and First-class), Troy Penman (List A), Adrian Tham (International T20), Ben Treloar (first-class) and Ian Wright (Test) were all recognised for their significant debuts across the season.

Christian Rayner was awarded the Alan Marshall Medal for Rookie of the Year in his first-season umpiring Men’s Premier Cricket. He officiated 11 matches across the Fourth and Fifth Grade Premier Cricket competitions, averaging 3.99 out of five captains' marks.

16 umpires and scorers in attendance on Saturday night were recognised for achieving significant milestones, including Arthur Watson and Kim Norris, who umpired their 800th and 700th matches respectively during the summer.

22 members were presented with Years of Service badges, including Terry New and Ian Thomas who this year brought up 40 years as members. Certificates were also presented to 40 members in attendance marking matches officiated at a representative level as both umpires and scorers.