Former NSW Breakers captain, and one of the state’s best cricketers, Lisa Sthalekar has been inducted into the International Cricket Council’s Hall of Fame.

Sthalekar, 41, scored 3,913 runs and claimed 229 wickets across a decorated international career that featured eight Tests, 125 One-Day Internationals and 54 Twenty20 Internationals for Australia.

She was recognised as Cricket Australia’s most outstanding female player in 2007 and 2008, when awarded the Belinda Clark Award.

She was part of four Australian World Cup winning sides. Two One-Day titles in 2005 and 2013, and successful Women’s T20 World Cups in 2010 and 2012.

Sthalekar was part of a rich period of success for the NSW Breakers winning 14 Women’s National Cricket League One-Day titles in 16 years, including five as captain.

Between January 1998 and January 2013, Sthalekar took 166 WNCL wickets, the most ever by a Breaker. She has the second most runs with 3,414 trailing Alex Blackwell who made 4,788 during her prolific career. 

She holds the games record for the Breakers with 145 One-Day caps. Sthalekar also won the Belinda Clark Medal as NSW Breakers Player of the Year on four occasions including in three successive seasons between 2005/06 and 2007/08.

Sthalekar is regarded among the elite spin-bowling all-rounders to have played the game and has nurtured the next generation of cricketers in coaching roles with Mosman in Sydney Premier Cricket and the Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League.

Since her retirement as a player, Sthalekar has established herself as a leading commentator with Channel 7 in Australia and television networks around the world.

She is also a champion of charitable causes, including The Chappell Foundation and Adopt Change, and serves on the board of the Australian Cricketers’ Association.

Sthlaekar was inducted alongside former South African allrounder Jacques Kallis and Pakistan batsman Zaheer Abbas.

“I am deeply humbled to receive this honour. Never in my wildest dreams did I believe that I would ever get to join such an illustrious group of players,” said Sthalekar.

“I was fortunate enough to learn from the best when I entered the Australia team – Belinda Clark, Karen Rolton and Cathryn Fitzpatrick, all of whom have been inducted into the Hall of Fame, and rightly so.

“The guidance from them and other teammates along the way kept me focused but also ensured that it was a fun environment. Thanks to all my teammates.

“It goes without saying that if it wasn’t for the support of my family, I wouldn’t have been able to achieve what I have.”

The ICC’s Hall of Fame inductees are decided by a nomination process and subsequent voting by an academy made up of current Hall of Fame members and prominent journalists.