Three players from New South Wales have been selected to represent Australia at the 2018 Male T20 Deaf Cricket World Cup in India during November.

Andrew Park, Austin Anish Philip, and Kurt Williams were all named in the 14-man squad on Thursday to coincide with National Week of Deaf People from 23-29 September.

Seventeen-year-old Philip is one of the rising young stars of the squad. At the National Inclusion Championships in January, he lit up the tournament with 223 runs from five innings at the crease.

Philip finished the championships with the second-best batting average of 74.33 and also contributed three handy wickets with ball in hand.

NSW captain Park turned in a fine performance with the ball throughout the National Championships. He claimed seven wickets at 13.29, including stellar figures of 3/11 against Victoria.

Williams put in his best performance of the competition against Queensland. The big-hitter top-scored for NSW with 37 from 49 balls and struck the lone six for NSW during the national titles.

The announcement of the squad follows a training camp at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in Brisbane earlier this year.

The World Cup also signifies the first time Cricket Australia has fully funded the National Deaf Squad for an International tour.

NSW Breakers great and, now Cricket Australia Executive General Manager of Community Cricket, Belinda Clark, said the squad is a product of the full pathway that exists for Deaf and Hard of Hearing cricketers.

“I wish the team all the best for this hugely important event and I am sure their performance will inspire Australians and the next generation of Deaf and Hard of Hearing cricketers,” Clark said.

The World Cup will feature teams from Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka. It will include three pool games and knock-out games.

The squad will travel to New Delhi, India, on 16 November where they will play three practice matches before the first of the pool games.


Australian T20 Deaf Cricket World Cup squad

Andrew Park (NSW)

Austin Anish Philip (NSW)

Kurt Williams (NSW)

Adam Wood (SA)

Justin Millard (SA)

Luke Trudgett (SA)

Sean Walsh (QLD)

Blake Pendlebury (VIC)

Callum Asbury (VIC)

Zac King (VIC)

Cameron Wilson (WA)

David Melling (WA)

James Johnson (WA)

Shahrukh Syed (WA)


Coach: Jason Mathers

Assistant Coach: Job Van Bunge

Team Mentor: Dean Barton Smith AM