Former Cricket NSW Chief Executive, Australian and New South Wales Blues fast bowler David Gilbert has been appointed as a Cricket Australia (CA) Match Referee for the 2018/19 season. 

Gilbert and former Australian and South African Test batsman Kepler Wessels, who is now living in Brisbane, are the two new additions to the 10-member CA Supplementary Referees Panel.

Match Officials Manager for Cricket Australia, Sean Easey, said Gilbert and Wessels each bring exceptional character and knowledge of the game to the Cricket Australia umpiring and match referees team.

Executive Officer for NSW Cricket Umpires’ and Scorers’ Association, Darren Goodger, concurred.

“David and Kepler will bring great cricket acumen and knowledge, leadership qualities, and genuine diversity to the Cricket Australia match officials team,” Goodger said.

“The fact they both played international cricket is such a positive. They will be perfectly placed to assist umpires, their referee colleagues and all stakeholders.”

Gilbert joins fellow NSW referees Tim Donahoo, Neil Findlay and Ian Thomas, on the Supplementary Referees Panel for 2018/19.

Former Blues quick and previous Australian Cricket Team Manager, Steve Bernard, and fellow NSW referee Peter Marshall have both been retained on the six-member National Referees Panel.

Overall, seven NSW officials were appointed to the CA umpire panels, with Gerard Abood and Paul Wilson retained as members of the ICC International Umpire Panel.

Abood and Wilson join Greg Davidson, Simon Lightbody and Tony Wilds as the five NSW umpires to retain their positions on the 12-member National Umpire Panel which is unchanged from last season.

Claire Polosak and Ben Treloar will again represent the state on the six-member Supplementary Umpire Panel.

“We’re really proud to see seven contracted umpires with CA come from NSW,” Goodger reflected. “This is testimony to the umpires’ character, their willingness to work hard to improve, and the quality and consistency of their performance.

“On top of that, you can add Rod Tucker who is on the ICC Elite Umpire Panel, so that gives NSW eight contracted umpires.”

The National Umpire Panel and National Referees Panel primarily officiate in the JLT Sheffield Shield, JLT One-Day Cup and KFC Big Bash League competitions.

While the Supplementary Umpire Panel and Supplementary Referees Panel primarily officiate in the Women’s National Cricket League, Rebel Women’s Big Bash League, Toyota Futures League and CA Under Age National Championships.

The panels were chosen by a selection panel consisting of Easey, Match Referee and Umpire Selection Manager and former ICC Elite Panel Umpire Simon Taufel, and former ICC Elite Panel Umpire Steve Davis.


2018-19 National Umpire Panel:

Gerard Abood (NSW)

Shawn Craig (VIC)

Greg Davidson (NSW)

Simon Fry (SA)

Phil Gillespie (VIC)

Mike Graham-Smith (TAS)

Geoff Joshua (VIC)

Simon Lightbody (NSW)

Sam Nogajski (TAS)

John Ward (VIC)

Tony Wilds (NSW)

Paul Wilson (NSW)


2018-19 Supplementary Umpire Panel:

Darren Close (TAS)

Nathan Johnstone (WA)

Donovan Koch (QLD)

Claire Polosak (NSW)

David Shepard (VIC)

Ben Treloar (NSW)


2018-19 National Referees Panel:

Steve Bernard (NSW)

Daryl Harper (SA)

Peter Marshall (NSW)

Bob Parry (VIC)

Bob Stratford (VIC)

David Talalla (VIC)


2018-19 Supplementary Referees Panel:

John Biddiss (SA)

Tim Donahoo (NSW)

Neil Findlay (NSW)

David Gilbert (NSW)

Kent Hannam (VIC)

Damian Herft (VIC)

David Johnston (TAS)

Terry Prue (WA)

Ian Thomas (NSW)

Kepler Wessels (QLD)