Five New South Wales Blues yet to make their debuts in domestic One-Day cricket for their state have been named in a 17-man squad to travel to Brisbane on Saturday for a series of trial matches ahead of the start of the JLT One-Day Cup in September.

Blues rookie allrounder Jack Edwards, fellow teenager Param Uppal, their Australian team mate and captain at the ICC Under 19 World Cup, Jason Sangha, as well as Sydney Thunder quick Daniel Sams and North Sydney batsman Justin Avendano, are all yet to make their debut for NSW in the one-day arena.

Despite being outside the Blues contract list, Avendano and Sams earn selection in the squad courtesy of some impressive performances over the three intra-squad practice matches for the Blues in Blacktown last week.

Australian and Blues spearhead Mitchell Starc will form part of the squad to travel to Queensland, as he continues preparations for the upcoming Test tour of Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates during October.    

Sangha, Uppal and Edwards were all an integral part of the Australian team that were runners-up to India at the Under 19 World Cup in New Zealand held during January and February this year.

All three cricketers are under the age of 20. Uppal is the eldest of the trio at 19, while Edwards and Sangha are 18.

Edwards made an impressive 58 from 81 balls in the first of those three trial matches at Joe McAleer Oval in Blacktown last week, while the off-spin of Uppal claimed four wickets from three matches including best figures of 3-47.

Sangha was similarly unphased playing alongside the likes of Starc and Australian Test off-spinner Nathan Lyon looking at ease out in the middle, especially in the first match, where he fell just short of a half-century dismissed for 46 from 69 deliveries.

Avendano was one of the most consistent performers during those trial matches. He scored consecutive fifties in his two matches.

Sams claimed three wickets and created something different at the bowling crease with his left arm angle and pace.

The three matches will be crucial preparation for the Blues JLT Cup campaign which starts on 18 September against defending champions Western Australia at the WACA Ground.

NSW Blues Squad – 1-10 September, Brisbane.

Sean Abbott

Justin Avendano

Harry Conway

Trent Copeland

Ben Dwarshuis

Jack Edwards

Mickey Edwards

Ryan Gibson

Moises Henriques

Daniel Hughes

Nick Larkin

Peter Nevill

Stephen O’Keefe

Daniel Sams

Jason Sangha

Mitchell Starc

Param Uppal


Schedule of Matches (50 overs)

Tuesday 4th September v. Queensland at Allan Border Field, 9:30am-5pm.

Thursday 6th September v. Queensland at Allan Border Field, 9:30am-5pm.

Sunday 9th September v. National Performance Squad at Allan Border Field, 9:30am-5pm.