The New South Wales Indigenous Men’s team have successfully defended their title at the National Indigenous Cricket Championships with an eight-wicket win over Queensland in the final on Monday.

NSW comfortably chased down 106 to win within 15 of the allotted 20 overs at Albrecht Oval in Alice Springs and finished the T20 tournament undefeated.

Ben Patterson was a stand out for the champions in the final. The fast bowling allrounder from Dubbo claimed 2-16 from four overs and followed that with an unbeaten 53 from 30 balls to seal the win. 

It was the third time in the last four years that the NSW Male team had won the title and seventh overall.

Earlier on Monday, the NSW Women’s Indigenous team won their 12th straight title in the female final at the same venue.

For the first time since 2012 both the NSW Male and Female Indigenous teams have defended their titles in the same year.

After Queensland won the toss and elected to bat first in the Male Final, it made 9/105 from its 20 overs.

Leading wicket taker for the competition Brock Larance was again good with ball in hand for NSW in the final. The spinner claimed 3-23 from his four overs and finished the competition with 14 scalps at an average of 12.14.

The performance follows 13 wickets claimed by the 17-year-old at the tournament last season.

Patterson finished second on the list of leading wicket takers for the 2019 tournament. He claimed 13 scalps at 8.08 with the only five-wicket haul of the championships.

The paceman collected 5-12 in the semi-final victory over Tasmania.

Nate Jones (2-24) and Patterson joined Larance as the multiple wicket takers in the final for the victors. Former NSW Indigenous player Sam Doggett top-scored against his old state with 37 from as balls.

NSW lost both openers Pat Rosser (2) and Brynley Richards (11) within the powerplay but then rallied through Patterson and 21-year-old captain Brendan Smith (30 not out from 29).

The pair shared an unbeaten 74-run partnership for the third wicket to secure the trophy.

Despite missing out in the final, Rosser finished the tournament as the leading run-scorer for NSW with 260 runs at 65. He passed fifty three times throughout the championships including a highest score of 78 not out from 64 balls against Northern Territory in round five.

Rosser was second on the list of leading run-scorers for the national titles. He trailed Victoria’s Nick Boland, brother of Victorian First Class fast bowler Scott Boland, by just nine runs.

Boland made 269 runs from seven matches at 89.67.

Scorecard here.