Seventeen Cricket NSW Pathway players, aged 15 to 17, have been chosen by Cricket Australia’s Youth Selection Panel in a 52-player squad for the 2019/20 Pathways Rookie Program.

The next best represented state in the squad is Victoria with 12.

The 17 players chosen include Australian Under 16 representatives last season Nivethan Radhakrishnan and Ryley Smith.

Both young men were part of the NSW Metro team that made the Under 17 National Championships Final in early October losing to Western Australia by one run.

Radhakrishnan and Smith were joined by captain Lachlan Shaw, Ethan Deal, Jordan Watson, Liam Doddrell, Jackson Nisbet, and Yash Patel, who have also been selected in the Pathways Rookie squad.

Others to be selected are Aidan Cahill, Joel Davies, Gaurav Dogra, Ethan Jamieson, William Salzmann, Nicholas Toohey, Harrison Townsend, Patrick Xie and Jayden Zahra Smith

The program will be overseen by Cricket Australia National Talent and Pathway Manager, Graham Manou, and Bupa National Cricket Centre High Performance Coaches, Ryan Harris and Chris Rogers.

The holistic program is designed to aid the players’ skill development, strength and conditioning and overall wellbeing, with the aim of assisting their progression within the Australian Cricket Pathway.

Manou said the program offers the best young talent with the opportunity to develop themselves as cricketers on the field, and as esteemed individuals off it.

“In recent years the program has been hugely successful,” said Manou, who played one Test for Australia in 2009.

“From last season’s intake, both Jake Fraser-McGurk and Tanveer Sangha were recognised by Big Bash clubs, while previous program graduates Jack Edwards, Will Sutherland, Xavier Bartlett and Cameron Green are among those enjoying success at Marsh Sheffield Shield and Marsh One-Day Cup level.

“I am delighted with the squad we have selected. There is no shortage of potential within the group and I look forward to seeing this year’s intake make the most of this opportunity.”

2019 CA Pathways Rookie Squad

New South Wales: Aidan Cahill, Joel Davies, Ethan Deal, Liam Doddrell, Gaurav Dogra, Ethan Jamieson, Jackson Nisbet, Yash Patel, Nivethan Radhakrishnan, William Salzmann, Lachlan Shaw, Ryley Smith, Nicholas Toohey, Harrison Townsend, Jordan Watson, Patrick Xie, Jayden Zahra Smith

Queensland: Dylan Kritzinger, Jackson Sinfield, Toby Snell, Aubrey Stockdale, Stephan Muller, Josh Smith, Tom Balkin, Tom Whitney

South Australia: Carl Arnold, Max Kelly, Nick Stathoris, Harrison Lemmey, Tejas Gill

Tasmania: Nick Davis, Sam Wright, Cooper Anthes, Hunter Douglas

Victoria: Liam Blackford, Billy Cootee, Henry DeMattia, Vincent Huf, Marcus Jackman, Harrison Kannan, Campbell Kellaway, Daniel Lalor, Darcy Munro, Riley Mark, Ben Sexton, Shobit Singh

Western Australia: Cooper Connolly, Hayden Stumpers, Teague Wyllie, Luke Holt, Blair Walsh, Nathan Bothma