New South Wales Blues Mitchell Starc and Nathan Lyon have been selected in a 15-man Australian squad for the Test series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates.

The squad was announced on Tuesday afternoon with Starc and Lyon among the more senior players named for the tour including five debutants.

The tour starts with a four-day warm-up match against Pakistan A in Dubai starting on 29 September. The first Test of the two-Test series will commence on the 7 October.

Starc recently resumed bowling for the Blues in a series of internal trial matches and showed he was starting to again find his pace and rhythm.

The 28-year-old left-arm spearhead of the Australian attack claimed 1-40 from 10 overs playing for the National Performance Squad against NSW in a practice match at Peter Burge Oval in Brisbane on Sunday.

Likewise, Lyon collected 2-54 from his 10 overs in that same match which the Blues won by 61 runs.

The 30-year-old off-spinner is the second leading wicket taker for Australia in Test cricket during this year thus far. He has returned 20 wickets at an economy rate of 2.9.

Blues and Australian team mate Pat Cummins is the leading wicket taker in Tests collecting 30 scalps at 19.7. The right-arm paceman and fellow quick Josh Hazlewood were ruled out of the tour with injury.

Lyon and Starc will look to emulate their efforts during the Ashes last season in the UAE. The pair were part of an all Blues attack for Australia that included Cummins and Hazlewood.

Starc led the bowling averages for Australia during that series. He took 22 wickets at 23.54.

The off-spin of Lyon also claimed 21 wickets during the five Tests. Cummins was again the best of the Australian bowlers with 23 scalps. 

Cricket Australia National Selector Trevor Hohns said he firmly believed the squad selected is up to the challenge ahead.  

“(This squad) is capable of playing a brand of cricket that can perform well in this series against Pakistan,” Hohns said.

Australian squad for Test tour of UAE

Tim Paine (c)


Ashton Agar

Western Australia

Brendan Doggett


Aaron Finch


Travis Head

South Australia

Jon Holland


Usman Khawaja


Marnus Labuschagne


Nathan Lyon

New South Wales

Mitchell Marsh

Western Australia

Shaun Marsh

Western Australia

Michael Neser


Matthew Renshaw


Peter Siddle


Mitchell Starc

New South Wales



29 September - October 2: warm-up match v Pakistan A, ICC Academy, Dubai

7-11 October: 1st Test v Pakistan, Dubai International Stadium

16-20 October: 2nd Test v Pakistan, Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi