Blues allrounder Moises Henriques has been added to the Australian squad for the first Vodafone Test against India in Adelaide, starting on Thursday.

While Henriques joins the squad, NSW fast bowler Sean Abbott will unfortunately remain in Sydney to continue his rehabilitation from a mild calf strain sustained in the most recent Australia A game against India at the SCG.

Abbott is expected to rejoin the squad for the second Vodafone Test in Melbourne.

Henriques returned to Australian duties in the recent Dettol ODI and T20I Series where he featured with bat and ball. He joins fellow Blues Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc and David Warner in the Test squad.

Henriques has since recovered from a mild hamstring strain which ruled him out of the Australia A games against India.

Australia Test squad: Tim Paine (c), Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner.