The McDonald’s Women’s Premier Cricket Combined First and Second Grade T20 competition starts this Sunday.

Universities Blue have named one of the most talented squads for round one with NSW Breakers’ allrounder Carly Leeson and Australian Under 19 representatives Maddy Darke, 17, and Sydney Sixers’ fast bowler Stella Campbell, 16, all named for the students’ opening fixture against Sydney.

Both Campbell and Darke toured South Africa in April with the Women’s Australian Under 19 team. The promising teenage quick claimed nine wickets at an average of 17.11 on that trip.

Leaders of the McDonald’s Women’s Premier Cricket First Grade competition, Parramatta, will also have several emerging stars for its match against Campbelltown-Camden at Merrylands Oval. 

Six of the squad for the match on Sunday have been selected for either the NSW Metro, ACT/NSW Country or Cricket Australia sides to compete at the Under 18 National Championships in January.  

Teenage Sydney Sixers’ allrounder and, Parramatta captain, Hayley Silver-Holmes, 15, is among those exciting young players.

She has been pivotal to the success of the young Parramatta side who are undefeated so far this season. Silver-Holmes is the leading run-scorer for her club in McDonald's Women's Premier Cricket with 117 runs at 39.

Adelaide Strikers’ medium pacer Sarah Coyte is a key inclusion for Penrith in its match against Northern District at Asquith Oval.

Coyte was crucial to the success of the Sydney Sixers in WBBL|03. She played four matches towards the end of the tournament last season and collected 10 wickets including five scalps in the finals.

Joanne Kelly was the leading run-scorer for St George-Sutherland in the Combined First and Second Grade T20 competition last season and will again be pivotal to the title hopes of the Slayers. She made 293 runs at 58.6.

St George-Sutherland were finalists in the T20 competition last season and start the new campaign against Universities Gold.

In other matches, Gordon Red host defending champions of the Combined T20 crown, Bankstown Sports, at Chatswood Oval.

In third grade, Bankstown are at home to St George-Sutherland, Campbelltown-Camden host Gordon, Universities Gold meet Universities Blue and Manly-Warringah have the bye.