Teenage swing bowler Joel Foster has had a day to remember for his club, Manly-Warringah against Sutherland at Glenn McGrath Oval, on a rain affected final Saturday of round two in McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket.

Foster, who turns 19 on Monday, claimed the prized scalp of International super star Steve Smith (9) and returned the impressive figures of 4-16 from eight overs, in an emphatic 217-run first innings victory for Manly-Warringah.

Last season Foster claimed career best figures of 8-23 against Bankstown at just 18 years of age. He became the youngest bowler to ever take such figures in Premier Cricket.

Sutherland was 1/17 in its second innings after being asked to follow on. Smith remained unbeaten on 15 not out.

Blues’ spearhead Sean Abbott was good in his return to Premier Cricket on Saturday. He claimed 2-27 from 10 overs for Parramatta, as his side had Campbelltown-Camden on the ropes at Old Kings Oval.

Campbelltown-Camden finished 6/83 in reply to 7/383 declared. The figures for Abbott were only bettered by Liam Lofts (2-5).

Four catches to Blues batsman and, Parramatta captain, Nick Bertus behind the stumps completed a wonderful match for him and his team. He made 140 from 234 balls the previous Saturday.

Emerging Blues batsman Jason Sangha posted his first half-century of the season for Randwick Petersham. He remained unbeaten on 67 not out against UNSW at Coogee Oval which ended in a draw.

Despite missing out with the bat, David Warner collected two catches and figures of 1-8 during the previous Saturday. Randwick Petersham finished at 3/137 in response to 279 to ensure a draw.

The win for Manly-Warringah secured its first points of the season. It was strengthened by the inclusions of Blues spinner Steve O’Keefe (0-32) and fast bowler Mickey Edwards for Saturday.

Edwards returned figures of 0-16 and 1-7, but was trumped by his younger brother, and Blues allrounder, Jack Edwards, who picked up 2-9 from 2.3 overs towards the end of the first innings.

Along with Foster, Michael Visser was the other main strike weapon for Manly. The opening bowler claimed 4-38 from 16 overs.

Manly-Warringah presently sit one point outside the all-important top six after two rounds.

Penrith and Sydney are currently equal first on the ladder after both teams completed wins on Saturday to remain undefeated.

UTS North Sydney narrowly hung on to avoid outright defeat against Penrith at Howell Oval.

The visitors were bundled out for 133 in the first innings, and after the follow-on was enforced, finished 8/147.

North Sydney batsman Rob Aitken scored 74 not out in the second innings to save his team from outright defeat, and in the process, entered the top 20 run-scorers in the history of Premier Cricket.

He went past former Australian opener and national coach, Bob Simpson (10,716), Bert Alderson (10,731) and Rodney Davison (10,732) into 16th place with 10,750 runs.

Luke Hodges claimed figures of 4-30 and 3-39 to send him to the top of the list of leading wicket takers for the competition, with Sydney University leg-spinner Devlin Malone, after two rounds.

Hodges has taken 10 wickets at an average of 7.00 across both matches, while Malone sits on the same number of wickets courtesy of his 6-73 against Eastern Suburbs on the first Saturday of the round two match.

The match was declared a draw after rain prevented any play on Saturday.

Cricket NSW Transition Academy squad player and, Bankstown opening batsman, Daniel Solway made a gritty 57 from nearly four hours at the crease in a 42-run defeat to Sydney at Bankstown Oval.

Bankstown was dismissed for 250 in reply to 292. Leading wicket taker for Sydney last season, off-spinner Ben Manenti, was best of the bowlers for the visitors with 3-87.

Western Suburbs comfortably defeated a star-studded Fairfield-Liverpool side that included four Blues’ players.

Param Uppal, Arjun Nair, Liam Hatcher and Blues rookie Chad Sammut all played for Fairfield-Liverpool in the 31-run loss. Nair (44) ensured a solid start for the visitors in response to 8/281 declared.

His 95-run partnership with Raveesh Srivastava (74) put Fairfield-Liverpool in the good position of 1/115. However, the consistent loss of wickets meant the visitors could not reel in the 282 required for first innings’ points.

Fairfield-Liverpool was dismissed for 250 in the 76th over. Bill O’Reilly Medallist Jonathan Cook (3-64) and Adrian Isherwood (3-62) returned best figures for Western Suburbs.

Cook capped off a superb all-round performance on Saturday. His three wickets complemented a pivotal 75 from 115 balls the previous Saturday.

Like the Sydney University and Eastern Suburbs, rain during the latter part of last week prevented any play in three other matches, including Blacktown against Gordon, Northern District at home to Mosman, and St George away to Hawkesbury.


NSW Premier Cricket:

Round 2 - First Grade:

Sydney 9-292 (R Felsch 69 A Glendenning 60 S Hassan 46 A Mosca 41 M Rodgers 25 B Taylor 4-62 L Marshall 3-50 N McAndrew 2-81) bt Bankstown 250 (D Solway 57 K Brockley 40 N Carruthers 40 C Ridley 34 B Smith 22 B Manenti 3-87 N Bills 2-46) at Bankstown Oval.


Blacktown 218 (T Flynn-Duncombe 63 A Oberai 56 D Nicotra 24 A Kherkhah 24 not out C Stobo 6-55 M Junk 2-40) drew Gordon 0 -35 (A Cahlin 25 not out) at Joe McAleer Reserve.


Hawkesbury 266 (P Forrest 86 J Wholohan 52 not out H Ridgewell 35 K Gordon 22 T Copeland 5-50 P Francis 2-41) drew St George 0-15 at Owen Earle Oval.


Northern District 1-8 drew Mosman 311 (L Hearne 92 S Rodgie 60 D Dassanayake 44 A Doolan 23 J Turner 20 N Smith 4-51 C Taylor 4-56) at Mark Taylor Oval.


Parramatta 7(dec)-383 (N Bertus 140 T Crittenden 112 B Cherry 50 L Dempsey 33 A Turrell 22 L Webb 3-50) drew Campbelltown-Camden 6-83 (P Wells 32 not out L Lofts 2-5 S Abbott 2-27 B Taylor 2-33) at Old Kings Oval.


Penrith 271 (B Williams 138 R Smith 29 not out M Collins 28 J Aitken 3-16 M Alexander 2-60 W Graham 2-70) bt UTS North Sydney 133 (J Aitken 32 T Jagot 30 R Van Kemenade 20 not out L Hodges 4-30 R Smith 3-49) and 8-147 (R Aitken 74 not out A Crosthwaite 28 L Hodges 3-39 B Williams 2-3) at Howell Oval.


Randwick Petersham 3-137 (J Sangha 67 not out A Sams 30 S Chhibber 30 not out) drew UNSW 279 (C Jackson 88 D Dawson 48 M Gilkes 41 T Scoble 35 not out V Hreszczuk 29 A Semple 4-50 J Sangha 3-43 S Chhibber 2-20) at Coogee Oval.


Manly-Warringah 348 (J Lenton 100 C Green 75 T Doonan 62 J Edwards 26 D Fallins 5-106 T Pinson 3-73 J Brown 2-49) bt Sutherland 131 (A Bariol 33 T Pinson 25 D Fallins 20 J Foster 4-16 M Visser 4-38 J Edwards 2-9) and 1-17 at Glenn McGrath Oval.


Sydney University 3-44 (B Trevor-Jones 27 not out) drew Eastern Suburbs 215 (A Ezekiel 47 B Holt 34 H Dalton 27 J Preddey 24 H Hunt 24 D Malone 6-73 B Joy 2-38) at University Oval.


Western Suburbs 8(dec)-281 (J Cook 75 J Hughes 46 A Isherwood 42 N Cutler 36 S McMahon 22 C Sammut 3-39 L Hatcher 2-37 P Uppal 2-80) bt Fairfield-Liverpool 250 (R Srivastava 74 A Nair 44 J Cashman 31 L Hatcher 25 H Sandhu 21 Z Johns 21 not out A Isherwood 3-62 J Cook 3-64 M Tudehope 2-35 Q Titterton 2-46) at Pratten Park.



Penrith 13 Sydney 13 Sydney University 8 Northern District 7 Parramatta 7 Mosman 7 Randwick Petersham 7 UNSW 7 Bankstown 6 Manly-Warringah 6 Western Suburbs 6 UTS North Sydney 6 St George 1 Gordon 1 Eastern Suburbs 1 Campbelltown-Camden 1 Blacktown 1 Hawkesbury 1 Sutherland 0 Fairfield-Liverpool 0.