The Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup has reached the semi-finals for both the Sydney Thunder and Sixers conferences with the elimination matches to be held this Sunday.

The top four teams from each conference play off for a place in the Conference finals, and then the final, the following week at the SCG. The final will be held under lights at the hallowed ground.

Each Conference Final winner earns an invitation to represent NSW Premier Cricket at the inaugural Foxtel National Premier T20 Championships held in Adelaide from 5-6 March.

Sydney, who finished on top of the Sixers Conference ladder and undefeated, will meet Sutherland at Drummoyne Oval in the first of the semi-finals for that group.

International super star batsman, Steve Smith, has been named in the squad for Sutherland.

In the other Sixers Conference semi-final, David Warner is a key inclusion for Randwick Petersham against St George at Hurstville Oval. The Saints finished the six competition rounds in second place on the group table and also did not lose a match.

Randwick Petersham qualified for the semi-finals in third position.

Penrith finished as the leading team in the Thunder Conference. It will play off against the fourth-placed Bankstown at Howell Oval.

In the other semi-final for the Thunder Conference, Campbelltown-Camden meet Sydney University at Raby Oval No. 1.

Both Penrith and Campbelltown-Camden went through the qualifying rounds undefeated.

Despite finishing the competition in fourth position, Sutherland has named a formidable squad for its match against defending champions Sydney.

Smith is joined by Sydney Sixers’ pair, left-arm quick and Sutherland captain Ben Dwarshuis, as well as, Blues leg-spinner Daniel Fallins, in the squad for the men from the Shire.

Fallins is the equal leading wicket taker for the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup heading into the Conference semi-finals. He has nine wickets to his name at an average of 10.33.

He is equal with Campbelltown-Camden quick Sam Skelly, ACT spinner Shane Devoy and Fairfield-Liverpool allrounder Param Uppal on nine scalps.

Sydney will be led by former NSW Blues and Sixers wicketkeeper-batsman Daniel Smith.

The match is one of two fixtures in a double-header at Drummoyne Oval on Sunday. The Sydney women’s cricket team will play Gordon Blue in round eight of the Combined First and Second Grade T20 competition starting at 10am in the morning.

The class of Warner is crucial to the hopes of Randwick Petersham progressing to the next stage of the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup, especially given his recent form.

Warner is the leading run-scorer across all formats in McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket this season. He has amassed 724 runs at 80.4 including two centuries.

In the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup, Warner has scored 274 runs at 91.33 including four half-centuries.

Together with fellow opener, English County batsman Daniel Bell-Drummond, Warner has posted the two highest opening partnerships in the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup.

The pair scored an unbeaten 155 for the first wicket in a ten-wicket win over UNSW in round five, and earlier in the competition, they added 139 against UTS North Sydney.

Skelly claimed a hat-trick during an emphatic victory for Campbelltown-Camden over Blacktown in round three. The Ghosts won by eight wickets.

The fast bowler has collected nine wickets at just 5.67 for the tournament so far. He will be key to the prospects of the Ghosts against Sydney University.

It is the first time since 2015/16 that the students have made the semi-final stage of the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup.

Sydney Thunder allrounder Nathan McAndrew has been in good form with bat for Bankstown leading into its Thunder Conference semi-final against Penrith.  

McAndrew has scored 171 runs at 57 with a highest score of 78 from 43 balls during a 53-run victory over Northern District.

The allrounder will be vital with bat and ball for Bankstown, if it is to progress to the preliminary finals, against a Penrith side that has found winning form in all formats this season.

Penrith won all four of its matches during the preliminary rounds of the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup and currently sits fourth on the McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket table with four wins from six matches.


SEMI-FINALS: 2:30pm Sunday 9 December 2018


Penrith v Bankstown at Howell Oval.

Penrith: Ryan Smith (c), Brent Williams, Ryan Gibson, Luke Hodges, Ryan Fletcher, Tyran Liddiard, Chris Withers, Brent Atherton, John DiBartolo, Michael Collins, Cameron Weir, Tom Sargeant.

Bankstown: Michael Stretton (c), Aaron Bird, Benjamin Taylor, Nathan McAndrew, Ben Le Bas, Rhys Williams, Daniel Solway, Brendan Smith, Kyle Brockley, Nick Carruthers, Matthew Waite, Mitch Brown.

Campbelltown-Camden v Sydney University at Raby Oval 1.

Campbelltown-Camden: Jarrad Burke (c), Philip Wells, Aaron Yabsley, Jake Cormack, Jaydyn Simmons, Luke Courtney, Jordan Browne, Luke Webb, Samuel Skelly, Ben Patterson, Jarred Lysaught, Charlie Dummer, Oliver Robinson.

Sydney University: Liam Robertson (c), Dugald Holloway, Tim Cummins, Ben Joy, Damien Mortimer, Ben Trevor-Jones, Devlin Malone, Max Hope, Hayden Kerr, Joe Kershaw, Nicholas Walker, Nicky Craze.


Sydney v Sutherland at Drummoyne Oval.

Sydney: Daniel Smith (c), Stephen Eskinazi, Ryan Felsch, Beau McClintock, Beniamin Mitchell, Benjamin Manenti, Anthony Mosca, Nicholas Bills, Matthew Rodgers, Ryan Corns, Zak Crawley, Nathan Sowter.

Sutherland: Ben Dwarshuis (c), Daniel Rixon, Steven Smith, Chris Williams, Jamie Brown, Jarryd Biviano, Tom Doyle, Daniel Fallins, Jake Wilson, Peter Saroukos, Tom Pinson, Jayden Brown, Luke Hawksworth.

St George v Randwick Petersham at Hurstville Oval.

St George: Nicholas Stapleton (c), Andrew Walsh, Matthew Hopkins, Eric Denhartog, Thomas Ortiz, Peter Francis, Mitchell Gray, Luke Bartier, Jonathan Rose, Adam Whatley, Tom Engelbrecht.

Randwick Petersham: Anthony Sams (c), Jason Ralston, David Warner, Shaun Eaton, Jason Sangha, Daniel Sams, Mac Jenkins, Adam Semple, Daya Singh, Riley Ayre, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Soumil Chhibber, Jacob Wood, Jamie Hemphrey, Dylan Hunter.