Recent Test debutant Kurtis Patterson has been named in the St George squad for its quarter final against Sydney in the First Grade Limited-Overs Cup, which resumes on Sunday.

The NSW Blues batsman made his Test debut for Australia at the Gabba in January against Sri Lanka and after two Tests has made 144 runs including a maiden century at Manuka Oval, Canberra.

Patterson made 114 not out during the second Test as Australia claimed the series 2-0.

Blues seamer Trent Copeland will captain the eighth-placed St George at Drummoyne Oval. Sydney qualified for the quarter finals in first position after the four preliminary rounds and were one of only two teams undefeated along with defending champions Sydney University.

Sydney finished the competition with one more bonus point than Sydney University. The Tigers will be captained by former Blues and Sydney Sixers wicketkeeper-batter Daniel Smith.

Patterson is expected to play his first match for St George since a brilliant 167 not out against Western Suburbs at Hurstville Oval on 12 January. He shared a record-breaking 309-run partnership with Luke Bartier, who made 133 from as many balls, in that massive 155-run win.

The partnership now stands as the highest ever recorded in the Limited-Overs competition. It surpassed the 264 made by former Blues allrounder Grant Lambert and Dean Attard for Fairfield-Liverpool against Mosman in 2011/12.

It was one of three centuries Patterson made that week. He followed his hundred for St George with another two during a tour match against Sri Lanka in Hobart.

The elegant left-hander made 157 not out and an unbeaten 102 in that match.

St George has already experienced some success in the shorter formats this season.

It made the Sydney Sixers Conference final of the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup, at the SCG, in December, but went down to eventual champions Sutherland by six wickets.

Tom Ortiz has been one of the form players for St George in the 50-over and Twenty20 formats. The seamer has claimed eight wickets at 18 in the First Grade Limited-Overs Cup and took 12 scalps at 11.25 in the T20 competition.

Allrounder Ryan Felsch is a key player for Sydney. He is the leading run-scorer for the Tigers in the Limited-Overs Cup with 233 runs at an amazing strike rate of 160.69.

His club last won the Limited-Overs Cup in 1975/76 when known as Balmain.

Sydney University take on Penrith at University Oval for the fourth time this season, when second plays seventh. The visitors are expected to have Sydney Thunder and Blues batsman Ryan Gibson available for the elimination match.

Brisbane Heat left-arm fast bowler, and former Blues quick, Josh Lalor is also expected to play for Penrith. He was the leading wicket taker for his franchise in the Big Bash League this season with 20 scalps at 14.85 including a hat-trick against the Perth Scorchers.

The students won their last encounter two weeks ago outright by two wickets. The two teams also met twice during the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup, including in the Thunder Conference final, won by Sydney University.

The spin of Devlin Malone has been central to the success of Sydney University this season.

The leg-spinner is the equal leading wicket taker in the Limited-Overs Cup. He has taken 10 wickets at 14 in the One-Day format and 47 wickets overall in McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket. His haul across all formats includes four five-wicket hauls.

North Sydney left-arm seamer Matt Alexander also has 10 wickets to his name at 17.5 in the 50-over competition.

Malone sits one wicket behind Penrith captain Ryan Smith as the leading wicket-taker in the Belvidere Cup. The Panthers seamer leads with 48 wickets at 17.

Gordon host UNSW in the third quarter final at Chatswood Oval. The Stags completed the preliminary rounds with just one loss, in round one to Bankstown, who qualified for the elimination stage in fifth position.

Young Gordon opener Axel Cahlin has scored two centuries from four visits to the crease in the Limited-Overs Cup. He has made 245 runs in total at 61.25.

Last season he led Gordon to the final of the Under 21 Poidevin Gray Shield that was won by Penrith at Howell Oval.

Like Gordon, UTS North Sydney has lost just the one match in the Limited-Overs Cup but have won their last seven matches in NSW Premier Cricket. The Bears qualified for the One-Day quarter finals in fourth place.

They meet Bankstown at North Sydney Oval on Sunday. Norths captain Tom Jagot and veteran Adam Crosthwaite are second and third on the list of leading run-scorers in the One-Day competition.

Jagot has scored 337 runs at 84.25, while Crosthwaite has made 278 runs at the even better average of 92.67. Both men have made two centuries during the Limited-Overs Cup.

Blues rookie and Blacktown captain Jordan Gauci is currently the leading run-scorer with 359 runs to his name, from four matches, at the outstanding average of 179.5.

Umpires Simon Lightbody and Troy Penman will both officiate their 100th Sydney Cricket Association matches in two of the quarter finals.

Lightbody, who has umpired 11 First Class matches in the Sheffield Shield, will umpire the Sydney and St George quarter final with Claire Polosak.

Since joining the association in 2010, Penman has umpired two WNCL and 13 WBBL matches. He will umpire his 100th match at North Sydney Oval with Ben Treloar.

First Grade Limited-Overs Cup 

Quarter Finals, Sunday 17th February

Sydney v St George at Drummoyne Oval:

Sydney: Daniel Smith (c), Matthew Rodgers, Liam Scott, Anthony Mosca, Zak Crawley, Stephen Eskinazi, Beau McClintock, Benjamin Manenti (TBC), Ryan Felsch, Nicholas Bills, Hugh Sherriff, Ryan Corns, Nick Govers, Liam Gibson, Beniamin Mitchell.

St George: Trent Copeland (c), Luke Bartier, Tom Engelbrecht, Peter Francis, Moises Henriques (TBC), Blake Macdonald, Blake Nikitaras, Thomas Ortiz, Kurtis Patterson, Jonathan Rose, Nicholas Stapleton, Adam Whatley.

Umpires: Simon Lightbody, Claire Polosak.

Sydney University v Penrith at University Oval:

Sydney University: TBA

Penrith: Ryan Smith (c), Brent Atherton, John DiBartolo, Ryan Fletcher, Ryan Gibson, Luke Hodges, Joshua Lalor, Henry Railz, Tyran Liddiard, Trent Weir, Cameron Weir, Brent Williams, Tom Sargeant.

Umpires: Ryan Nelson, Anthony Wilds.

Gordon v UNSW at Chatswood Oval:

Gordon: TBA

UNSW: David Dawson (c), Matthew Gilkes, Harry Brook, Joseph Byrnes, Marcus Atallah, Tahmidul Islam, Suthangan Thanabalasingam, Thomas Byrnes, Hayden McLean, Joshua Bennett, Declan White, Thomas Scoble.

Umpires: Greg Davidson, Marc Nickl.

UTS North Sydney v Bankstown at North Sydney Oval:

UTS North Sydney: TBA

Bankstown: Michael Stretton (c), Aaron Bird, Mitch Brown, Nick Carruthers, Liam Marshall, Chris Ridley, Brendan Smith, Daniel Solway, Benjamin Taylor, Matthew Waite, Rhys Williams, Nathan McAndrew.

Umpires: Troy Penman, Ben Treloar.