Minor premier Sydney is in control of the McDonald's Men's Premier Cricket grand final after dominating day one against Manly at Drummoyne Oval.

The Tigers won the toss and batted first in perfect conditions, reaching 3-217 at stumps.

Anthony Mosca (87 not out) and Beau McClintock (68 not out) anchored the innings, putting on an unbroken 122-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

Mosca, the competition's leading run-scorer, was given a reprieve on 11 when he appeared to edge a catch to first slip off paceman Ryan Hadley (1-63).

Ryan Farrell took the ball low to the ground, but the Sydney top order batsman was unsure whether it carried and stood his ground.

After the two umpires conferred, neither could give a definitive decision on whether the ball touched the turf so gave Mosca the benefit of the doubt.

He made the most of his let-off, putting his head down to grind his way to yet another half-century.

Sydney captain Matt Rodgers admitted the decision could have gone either way and was happy to be only three down at stumps.

"You don’t want to get too far ahead of yourself but we've put ourselves in a reasonable position.

"It was a tough, grinding day of cricket and AJ and Beau batted realty well.

"We now need to keep it going tomorrow."  

Manly will be desperate for early wickets when play resumes on Sunday morning.

The second grade decider is titled St George's way after Manly suffered a late batting collapse at Manly Oval.

The Waratahs looked in reasonable shape at 4-199 before losing 6-21 to be bowled out for just 219.

Opener Ned Hole was the mainstay of the Manly innings, batting almost the entire day before falling just before the close of play for a patient 88.

St George's opening bowler Tom Ortiz finished with 4-49.

Northern District is firmly in the driver's seat against Easts in thirds, ending day one on 4-356. Jason Hayward made an unbeaten 135.

Saints are 0-2 chasing Sutherland's 161 in fourth grade and NDs is 7-196 against Gordon in fifths.

Watch the Grand Finals of all five grades and follow the scores at Match Centre (click on 'match' and then the YouTube link for the live stream of each match).