Newcastle will play Riverina in the final of the men’s McDonald’s Country Championships at Seiffert Oval in Goulburn on Sunday February 21.

Newcastle, the hot favourites, are the defending champions, while this is the first final in many years for Riverina.

The Riverina outfit, made up of players from Albury, Wagga, Canberra and Griffith, were the standout team in the southern pool qualifiers, remaining undefeated, whilst Newcastle grabbed their finals spot after wins in rounds 1 and 2 of the northern pool.

In an historic first, the match will be streamed live. To watch, CLICK HERE.

Cricket NSW Manager NSW Pathway Competitions Bruce Whitehouse said there would be plenty of talent on show for those at the game or watching online.

“Many of the best ‘open age’ cricketers in regional NSW will be on display,” Whitehouse said.

“There will be a number of Bush Blues players in action, including the likes of Bush Blues captain Nick Foster and his Newcastle teammates Adrian Chad, Dan Bailey, Ryan Van Kemenade and Daniel Arms.

“The Riverina team is a talented one too with Bush Blues players Ben Mitchell, Ryan Brown and Luke Docherty all playing.

“This has been a great tournament this year, despite the obvious challenges we have all faced and the final on Sunday has received really strong support from Goulburn Mulwaree Council and Goulburn DCA, as well as our wonderful competition sponsor McDonald’s.”

Action gets underway on Sunday at 10:00am.


49. Zac SIMMONDS (c)      Belvoir (Albury)

52. Ben MITCHELL (vc)      Corowa (Albury)

39. Brayden AMBLER         South Wagga Blues (Wagga)

46. Dean BENNETT            Coro Club Cougars (Griffith)

53. Nathan BROWN           Lavington Panthers (Albury)

40. Tom JOHNSON            Wodonga Bulldogs (Albury)

47. Ryan BROWN                Lavington Panthers (Albury)

50. Luke DOCHERTY          Hanwood (Griffith)

48. Jarryd HATTON           Corowa (Albury)

36. Angus KILBY               St Patricks (Albury)

45. Haydn PASCOE           Coro Club Cougars (Griffith)

38. Matthew SHARP          Lavington Panthers (Albury)

30. Theo VALERI              Wodonga Bulldogs (Albury – originally Griffith)

Team Officials        

Trent BALL (Coach)

Grant BALL (Manager)

Jamie BENNETT (Scorer)


12. Nick FOSTER (c)             Stockton Nthn Districts

18. Brad ALDOUS                 Western Suburbs

22. Daniel ARMS                   Charlestown

8. Dan BAILEY                      Belmont

9. Ben BALCOMB                  Hamilton Wickham

23. Jacob MONTGOMERY       Wallsend

2. Aiden CAHILL                   Newcastle City

7. Adrian CHAD                    Toronto Workers

10. Jed DICKSON                  Charlestown

8. Jeff GONINAN                   Stockton Nthn Districts

21. Nathan HUDSON             Waratah Mayfield

20. James KING                    Western Suburbs

11. Ryan VAN KEMENADE      Wallsend

Team Officials           

Shane BURLEY (Coach)

Dan PROUDMAN (Scorer)

David REDDEN (Manager)