Australian cricket legends Victor Trumper, Bill O’Reilly, Keith Miller, Ray Lindwall and Stephen Waugh will be formally inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame at the tea break of the 3 mobile Test in Sydney today (January 4) .

Meanwhile nine New South Wales cricket volunteers were honoured for their contribution to the game when they each received an ICC Centenary Volunteer Medal before the start of today's play .

Waugh will do an open-car lap of the SCG at the tea break and be presented with the ICC Hall of Fame cap, while the families of the late Trumper, O'Reilly, Miller and Lindwall will accept ICC Hall of Fame caps on behalf of the former greats. The inductees are among 15 Australians who were inducted during 2009 when the ICC Hall of Fame was created to celebrate the ICC Centenary.

While some of Australia’s most recognisable cricketing names are honoured by the ICC's new Hall of Fame, some unsung heroes (along with one very familiar name) are being recognised with ICC Centenary Medals. Fifty Australian cricket volunteers will be recognised throughout this season with ICC Centenary Volunteer Medals, with the New South Wales-based recipients awarded their medal by Cricket Australia Chairman and ICC Director Jack Clarke on the SCG prior.

The ICC awarded 1000 of the medals worldwide in 2009, also in celebration of its Centenary.

Clarke paid tribute to these nine and all volunteers who will be recognised through the season:

“Volunteers are the lifeblood of our sport and it is wonderful that the ICC have chosen to highlight their contribution through the ICC Centenary Volunteer Medal,” Clarke said.

“Not only is this recognition for the 50 worthy winners of the medal nationally, but recognition for the thousands upon thousands of volunteers who contribute to making cricket Australia’s favourite sport.”

The NSW-based ICC Centenary Volunteer Medal recipients are:

Brian Lulham
An outstanding contributor in the world of club cricket in Sydney, Brian has been a superb contributor to the Sydney Cricket Club over a number of years in many voluntary roles

Alan Davidson
The prolific all-rounder who ranks as one of the greatest of all time, Alan has had a continuous involvement with NSW Cricket as a player and administrator for over 60 years as well as being the longest serving President in the history of the State.

Alan Crompton
The Manager of the Australian team on their successful Ashes campaign of 1989, Alan has also acted as Chairman of both Cricket Australia and the New South Wales Cricket Association

Eris Dignam
A long standing volunteer with the successful Bankstown Grade Club in Sydney, Eris has been involved with all aspects of the running of that club for over 25 years, including the role of Treasurer

Tony Gifford
A magnificent servant of schools cricket Tony has been involved with the NSW Schools Cricket Association for over 50 years at the highest level and has assisted in the promotion of the game between schools throughout the state

Graeme Kightley
A long time player and administrator with the Epping Shires Club in Sydney, Graeme has been secretary of the NSW Schools Cricket Association where he has successfully overseen tournaments and tours for teams over many years

Tony Lantry
An outstanding teacher at the famous St Josephs College in Sydney, Tony has also been a major part of the success of the successful Greater Public Schools cricket system that has been a fundamental part of the NSW Schools structure.

Brian Freedman
The former Bankstown Cricket Club President, Brian has served as a Director to Cricket NSW and Cricket Australia as well as a volunteer at Grade level where he has assisted his club in many capacities.

John Araco
A long standing servant of the Fairfield-Liverpool Cricket Association, John has been a major driving force behind the advancement of junior cricket in South-Western Sydney.

Nominations for the 50 Australian ICC Volunteer Medals were gathered from across Australian cricket and aim to recognise volunteers who have made a significant contribution to cricket both past and present, from the grassroots levels up to those volunteers involved with the elite level.

Information from the ICC on the Centenary Volunteer Medals:
The ICC Centenary Medal recognises a group of people who are instrumental to the running of the game – volunteers. These people give their time up for the benefit of others and are crucial in preserving cricket’s special values as well as sustaining and developing the game at the grassroots and nurturing the stars of the future.

In recognition of their contribution to the sport, during the centenary the ICC will be awarding centenary medals to 1000 volunteers worldwide who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to the game and have gone beyond the call of duty in the name of cricket. These medals recognise volunteers both past and present to demonstrate the significant role that they have made to the sport over the years.