By Cricket NSW Media

The Gladesville Primary School boys’ team and the Padstow North Primary School girls’ side will represent NSW at the National Finals of the MILO T20 Blast Schools Cup at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on December 11.

Gladesville and Padstow North earned the right to represent their State after winning their respective divisions at the MILO T20 Blast Schools Cup State Finals Day which was held at Blacktown International Sportspark earlier this week (October 29).

Gladesville went into the State Final of the Boys’ Division undefeated before defeating Randwick in the Final by 23 runs. Harrington Park PS finished third.

The Final of the Girls’ Division was a very tense affair with Padstow North overcoming Belrose by just one run to earn their trip to Melbourne. Illawong PS placed third.

Cricket NSW also presented two Best and Fairest awards which were judged by the umpires throughout the day.

The Boys’ Best and Fairest award went to Jack O’Brien from Gladesville while Clare Slattery from Belrose was judged Best and Fairest amongst the girls.

The MILO T20 Blast Schools Cup is a competition for primary school kids in Years Five and Six, designed to encourage participation and maximise enjoyment.

Teams play modified games of eight overs per side, with eight players on each team. To be eligible for the competition, schools had to enter both a boys’ and girls’ team.

Each school started the competition by playing in the respective Zone Qualifying tournament, with the winners of that competition moving on to the Regional Final.

The Regional Champions qualified for the MILO T20 Blast Schools Cup State Finals Day with the winners moving on to the National Final.