The preliminary NSW Metro Female Under 15 and 18 squads have been named for the 2019/20 season featuring two newly contracted Breakers.

Sydney Sixers pace bowling allrounder Hayley Silver-Holmes, 15, and fast bowler Stella Campbell, 16, are among 24 cricketers selected in the Under 18 squad.

They both received their first Breakers contract in May and are current Australian Under 19 players. Twenty cricketers were chosen in the Under 15 age group.

Final squads for the respective National Championships next season will be selected from each preliminary squad that will train during the winter.

Cricket NSW Female Talent Manager, Steve Jenkin, said it was an exciting time given the depth of both squads.

“When we chose the Under 15 Metro squad, we discovered that it’s probably stronger than last year’s that won it,” Jenkin said.

“(The progression) of Under 15s into 18s has also been really good.”

Silver-Holmes became the youngest ever debutant for the Sixers in the Women’s Big Bash League when she made her debut last season at just 15.

Both Silver-Holmes and Campbell were part of the NSW Metro team that claimed the Under 18 Limited-Overs title in 2018/19, captained by allrounder Hannah Darlington, who has again been selected.

NSW Metro also defeated intra-state rivals ACT/NSW Country in the final of the Under 15 national titles.

Darlington, Silver-Holmes and Campbell are among 12 players selected that formed part of that successful Under 18 squad last season.

The other players are opening batters Sarah Turner, Elise Noble, allrounders Olivia Porter, Angelina Genford, Dharmini Chauhan and Shivani Mehta, leg-spinner Isabella Malgioglio, pace bowler Stephanie Ellsmore and left-arm finger spinner Nell Bryson-Smith. 

Victorious NSW Metro Under 15 captain, Claire Moore, makes the step up to Under 18 level this season. She made a crucial 58 from 77 balls in the successful final last season.

Promising Parramatta swing bowler Kate Peterson has also been selected in the extended Under 18 squad. The 15-year-old claimed 11 wickets at an average of 19.73 in her first season of Premier Cricket during 2018/19.

Peterson represented the Cricket Australia XI at the Under 18 nationals last season, along with Parramatta team mate, wicketkeeper Molly Godsell, who has also been selected in the Under 18 Metro squad.

Wicketkeeper-batter Elsa Hunter, who made history earlier this year becoming the youngest person to play International cricket when she debuted for Malaysia at 13, has been selected in the Under 15 squad.

The now 14-year-old starred for Parramatta during the Under 18 Brewer Shield last season.

She was the leading run-scorer with 414 runs at 51.75 and was accomplished behind the stumps, especially in the final against Bankstown, where she completed two catches and two stumpings.

Hunter was named Player of the Final after she also scored 41 not out with the bat.

Metro Under 18
Ahilya Chandel Sydney
Alexandra Tims Sydney
Alice Whelan Bankstown
Ananaya Sharma Sydney
Angelina Genford Bankstown
Charley Camburn Gordon
Emily Lawler Bankstown
Hannah Darlington Campbelltown-Camden
Hayley Elliott Bankstown
Hayley Silver-Holmes Parramatta
Kate Peterson Parramatta
Kelsey Myers Parramatta
Olivia Porter Universties
Stella Campbell Universities
Sarah Turner Northern District
Elise Noble Parramatta
Dharmini Chauhan Campbelltown-Camden
Stephane Ellsmore Campbelltown-Camden
Shivani Mehta Northern District
Nell Bryson-Smith Sydney
Molly Godsell Parramatta
Isabella Malgioglio Parramatta
Claire Moore Penrith
Jade Errington Bankstown


Metro Under 15
Amelia Sim UTS North Sydney
Bethany Lane Penrith
Chelsea McLerie Manly-Warringah
Chloe Butler Bankstown Sports
Ella Briscoe St George-Sutherland
Elsa Hunter Parramatta
Eva Ragg Sydney
Frankie Nicklin Universities
Georgia Fortman Marrickville
Grace Bryson-Smith Sydney
Kinjal Kumari Gordon
Lauren Kua Gordon
Olivia Maxwell Sydney
Sonya Kalachian Sydney
Tahlia Dunne Bankstown
Lucy Finn St George-Sutherland
Sara Chun Gordon
Samira Dimeglio Sydney
Yasmin Fernando Bankstown
Laura Metry Sydney