The squads to compete in the Cricket NSW Under 14 and Under 17 Female State Challenge, at Raby Sports Complex from 15-18 April, have been announced.

The Under 14 and Under 17 T20 competitions will each involve four teams, Sydney Thunder Metro and ACT/Country and Sydney Sixers Metro and ACT/Country.

Cricket NSW Female Talent Manager, Steve Jenkin, explained that the two competitions will act as selection trials for the Under 15 and Under 18 Female National Championships next season.

“Both age divisions represent an exciting opportunity to not only identify cricketers for those squads, but also future talent that would benefit from the Cricket NSW Pathway system,” said Jenkin.

The Under 14 competition takes place on Monday and Tuesday, involving three matches for each team followed by the Under 17 State Challenge, Wednesday and Thursday.

Each team in the Under 17 competition also plays three matches.

The Under 14 and 17 Female State Challenge tournaments are run concurrently with the Under 16 Male equivalent that follows a similar format and starts on Sunday.

Several players involved in the Under 15 and Under 18 female nationals last season have been selected for the Under 17 State Challenge starting Wednesday.

This includes six members of the NSW Metro squad that claimed the Limited-Overs title at the Under 18 nationals in Ballarat during January.

One of those players, allrounder Dharmini Chauhan, will captain a strong NSW Metro Thunder team at the Under 17 State Challenge.

Chauhan is one of four players from the victorious Under 18 NSW Metro side, in January, selected for that Thunder team.  

The other players are seam bowler Stephanie Ellsmore, leg-spinner Isabella Malgioglio and top-order batter Elise Noble. 

Six players from the ACT/NSW Country squad that were runners-up to Metro at the Under 18 nationals this season, have been selected in the two ACT/NSW Country squads, including both captains.

Riverina medium-pacer Gabrielle Sutcliffe will lead the Thunder team, while Central Northern batter Lara Graham captains the Sixers.

Sutcliffe also captained ACT/NSW Country to the final of the Under 18 National Championships this season.

Ellsmore and Chauhan were both part of the Campbelltown-Camden squad that won the McDonald’s Women’s Premier Cricket title in 2018/19.

Malgioglio was the second leading wicket taker at the Under 18 National Championships with 19 scalps at an average of 10.37. She trailed NSW Metro team mate and off-spinner Isabelle Afaras by one wicket.

Afaras was equal leading wicket taker, with Victoria Metro wrist spinner Erika Quinn, both claiming 20 wickets.

Jenkin said the inaugural Under 13 Female State Challenge, held at Wellington in Central West NSW during January, was used as the basis for selection of the teams competing in the Under 14 tournament.

One of the players selected include wicketkeeper-batter Elsa Hunter (NSW Metro Thunder), who earlier in the year became the youngest ever female cricketer to play International cricket, when selected for Malaysia in the Women's World T20 qualifiers at just 13.  

Star allrounder for Metro Thunder, Ella-Jane Briscoe, was the leading wicket taker at the Under 13 State Challenge with six wickets at 4.17.

However, it was with the bat that she starred for Sutherland Shire Junior Cricket Association in the Under 13 Mollie Dive Shield. Briscoe made 443 runs at the amazing average of 147.67 and finished that competition as the leading run-scorer.

She finished 181 runs clear of Olivia Maxwell, daughter of former NSW Blues allrounder Neil Maxwell, on that list. The allrounder made 262 runs at 65.5 in the Mollie Dive Shield.

Maxwell is captain of the Under 14 Metro Sixers team.

NSW Breakers spinner Lauren Smith and reserve wicketkeeper-batter Hannah Trethewy will act as assistant coaches for both the Under 14 and 17 State Challenge.

Under 17 NSW Metro Thunder
Dharmini Chauhan ( c ) Campbelltown-Camden
Lara Savet-Buck St George-Sutherland
Hayley Elliott Bankstown
Claire Moore Penrith
Emily Lawler Bankstown
Elise Noble Parramatta
Sophie Vaughan Parramatta
Isabella Malgioglio Parramatta
Zoha Siddiqi Campbelltown-Camden
Molly Godsell Parramatta
Zoya Thakur Bankstown
Stephanie Ellsmore Campbelltown-Camden
Ahilya Chandel Sydney
Sutha Thanabalasingam Coach
Hannah Trethewy Assistant Coach

Under 17 NSW Metro Sixers
Charlotte Camburn Gordon
Olivia Fanning Gordon
Alice Whelan St George-Sutherland
Nell Bryson-Smith Sydney
Kelsey Myers Parramatta
Isabella Hurst Parramatta
Ananaya Sharma Sydney
Jade Errington Bankstown
Alex Tims Sydney
Annabel Hutt Northern District
Abigail Powell Gordon
Lily Campbell Sydney
Shivani Mehta ( c ) Northern District
Ron Woods Coach
Emma Newman Assistant Coach

Under 17 ACT/NSW Country Thunder
Kayla Burton Greater Illawarra
Clare Levings ACT/Southern Districts
Jade Allen ACT/Southern Districts
Katie Letcher Western
Tara Rudd Greater Illawarra
Julia Bassett ACT/Southern Districts
Gabbie Sutcliffe ( c ) Riverina
Caitlan Galeano ACT/Southern Districts
Elizabeth Coper-Jones ACT/Southern Districts
Chantelle Downey Greater Illawarra
Ebony Hoskins Riverina
Maddie McGuigan Newcastle/Central Coast
Deni Baker Central Northern
Steve Davies Coach
Travis Burton Assistant Coach

Under 17 ACT/NSW Country Sixers
Alisha Bates Newcastle/Central Coast
Grace Dignam Newcastle/Central Coast
Keisha Dowsett North Coastal
Hannah Faux North Coastal
Lara Graham ( c ) Central Northern
Olivia Osborne North Coastal
Holly Simmons North Coastal
Allyssa Ford Central Northern
Tara Craig Central Northern
Emma Ross North Coastal
Claire McGuirk Central Northern
Milah Riley Newcastle/Central Coast
Sophie Shelley Newcastle/Central Coast
Rebecca Maher Coach
Tommy Anderson Assistant Coach

Under 14 NSW Metro Thunder
Ella Briscoe St George-Sutherland
Elsa Hunter Parramatta
Tahlia Dunne Bankstown
Samira Dimeglio Sydney
Tyra Cooper Bankstown
Bethany Lane ( c ) Penrith
Mikayla Kolbe Bankstown
Sarah Lawler Bankstown
Yasmin Fernando Bankstown
Kate Pelle Parramatta
Felicia Aoina Bankstown
Shekinah Lowe Bankstown
Lucy Wilson Parramatta
Ron Woods Coach
Tim Carter Assistant Coach

Under 14 NSW Metro Sixers
Grace Bryson-Smith Sydney
Lauren Kua Gordon
Kinjal Kumari Gordon
Chelsea McLerie Manly-Warringah
Frankie Nicklin Universities
Olivia Maxwell ( c ) Sydney
Amelia Sim North Sydney
Lucy Finn St Joseph's
Eva Ragg Sydney
Sara Chun Gordon
Sonya Kalachian
Laura Metry Sydney
Felicity Stewart Gordon
Sutha Thanabalasingam Coach
Hannah Trethewy Assistant Coach

Under 14 ACT/NSW Country Thunder
Charlie Lamont Riverina
Kaitlin Logan Riverina
Perri Nash ( c ) Riverina
Grace Lyons ACT/Southern Districts
Mia Phelps ACT/Southern Districts
Rosie Blain Riverina
Alice Caldow Riverina
Aimee Longhurst Western
Charli O'Byrne Western
Teleitha O'Byrne Western
Hilary Swan Greater Illawarra
India Bellhouse Greater Illawarra
Kobi Lynch Greater Illawarra
Catherine Wood Coach
Troy McKeirnan Assistant Coach

Under 14 ACT/NSW Country Sixers
Sophie Cook Newcastle/Central Coast
Kate McTaggert Newcastle/Central Coast
Emily Hosking North Coastal
Annika Valette North Coastal
Sienna Eve ( c ) Newcastle/Central Coast
Mia Cook Newcastle/Central Coast
Vanessa Simpson Central Northern
Emily Humphreys Newcastle/Central Coast
Jaimee-Lee Woolfe North Coastal
Lucy Pearce Newcastle/Central Coast
Alexandra Mavros North Coastal
Sophie Parsons Central Northern
Simira Mitchell North Coastal
Tommy Anderson Coach
Lauren Smith Assistant Coach