Seven current Australian underage representatives have been chosen in the 2019 Male Under 17 and 19 NSW Metropolitan Academy squads announced on Wednesday.

Under 19 NSW Metro captain last season, Ollie Davies, headlines five players that toured Sri Lanka in January with the Australian Under 19 team.

Opening batter Ryley Smith and ambidextrous allrounder Nivethan Radhakrishnan are the two Australian Under 16 representatives selected in the Under 17 squad.

Both squads will form the basis of selection for the respective National Championships in each age group next season and will train during the winter months.

Twenty-two players were chosen in the Under 17 squad, while 25 under 19 cricketers have been selected.

Performances throughout last season at various underage and Premier Cricket levels were key factors in selection.

The recent Male Under 16 State Challenge held at Raby Sports Complex in April was also pivotal to Under 17 selections.

The five Australian Under 19 players are Davies, fellow batsmen Sam Fanning, Lachlan Hearne, leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha and fast bowler Liam Marshall.

Davies entered the record books at the Under 19 National Championships last season.

He blasted 207 from just 115 balls against the Northern Territory becoming the first player to score a double century in a one-day match throughout the history of the tournament.

His younger brother Joel Davies, who led NSW Magenta to the inaugural Under 15 national title in February, has been selected in the Under 17 squad.

Joel Davies made two centuries during those championships earlier this year averaging 66.8. Both he and his brother play for the Manly-Warringah club in Premier Cricket.

Under 17 wicketkeeper-batter, Lachlan Shaw, is among three players who have again been selected in the Academy squad for the second successive season. Smith and Radhakrishnan are the other two.

Radhakrishnan possesses the unique skill of bowling orthodox spin with both arms.

Cricket NSW Pathways Coach, and former Blues off-spinner, Anthony Clark was pleased with the strength of the Under 19 squad.

“It is a strong group of players covering all skill sets,” said Clark.

Coaching and Talent Manager for NSW Metro at Cricket NSW, Gavan Twining, shared a similar sentiment in regard to the Under 17 squad.

“(The squad) demonstrates that there are multiple entry and exit points throughout a player’s development – with the capacity to be selected at any time with good performances in competitions such as Green Shield and State Challenges,” Twining said.

“We now look forward to the training program beginning in early June in preparation for the Coffs Harbour Under 17 State Challenge in August.”

U17 Metro Academy Squad
Given Name Surname Premier Cricket Club
Ryley Smith Penrith
Yianni Theodorakopoulos Blacktown
Jordan Watson Penrith
Corey Miller Northern District
Ethan Deal Sutherland
Nivethan Radhakrishnan Hawkesbury
Lachlan Shaw Sydney
Flynn Farquharson Mosman
Adam Cavenor North Sydney
Nathan Sequeira Gordon
Liam Doddrell Penrith
Ellis Sherriff Sydney
Joshua Seward Manly-Warringah
Alex Van Vugt Eastern Suburbs
Max Glen Eastern Suburbs
Jack Nisbet Sydney
Yash Patel Northern District
Joel Davies Manly-Warringah
William Salzmann Campbelltown-Camden
Gourav Dogra Blacktown
Ethan Jamieson St George
Patrick Xie Parramatta


U19 Metro Academy Squad
Given Name Surname Premier Cricket Club
Oliver Davies Manly-Warringah
Sam Fanning Northern District
Lachlan Hearne Mosman
Yuvraj Sharma Fairfield-Liverpool
Timothy Reynolds North Sydney
Atharva Patil Fairfield-Liverpool
Zeeshan Ahmed Bankstown
Hunar Verma Blacktown
Campbell Pert Eastern Suburbs
Liam Marshall Bankstown
Hugh Sherriff Sydney
Brad Simpson Bankstown
Harry Manenti Sydney
Jacob Workman Parramatta
Seb Buchanan Sydney
Rajdeep Singh Penrith
Tanveer Sangha Campbeltown-Camden
Josh Baraba Fairfield-Liverpool
Ajay Singh Northern District
Mac Jenkins North Sydney
Joe Hiley Northern District
Dhruv Kant Blacktown
Jack Attenborough UNSW
Thomas Byrnes UNSW
Hayden Goulstone Parramatta