Newcastle have defeated Riverina by 66 runs to retain the McDonald’s Country Championships at Seiffert Oval in Goulburn.

In a low scoring affair, on a bowler friendly wicket, Newcastle tallied 188, with only one score of over 30 – Bush Blue Ryan Van Kemenade with 33.

Three other batsmen scored between 20 and 30 – Jeff Goninan (26), James King (22) and Aiden Cahill (23).            

The Riverina attack shared the wickets with four bowlers each taking two poles – Luke Docherty (2/26), Jarryd Hatton (2/25), Ben Mitchell (2/37) and Nathan Brown (2/43).

In reply, Riverina could only manage 121, being bowled out in the 43rd over.

The Newcastle attack dominated, led by hostile bowling from Aidan Cahill and a very clever spell from Adrian Chad (5/25).

The best with the bat for Riverina was Theo Valeri who top scored for the game with 38, with Dean Bennett (25) and Ben Mitchell (21) in support.                           

Chad received the Mark Curry Medal for the Player of the Final, which was live streamed in a first for Country Cricket.

Country Cricket NSW thanks Goulburn Mulwaree Council and Goulburn DCA for their much valued support of the McDonald’s Country Championships Final.