Seven promising cricketers have been named in a 14-player squad for the Cricket Australia XI team to compete at the Female Under 18 National Championships starting next week.

The championships will take place in the towns of Ballarat and Bendigo in Victoria from 14 to 24 January. The Cricket Australia XI squad includes four players representing ACT/NSW Country and three for NSW Metro.

ACT/NSW Country selectors have also named a 14-player squad for the championships, while NSW Metro will take a group of 15 players to Victoria.

Top order batter Phoebe Litchfield, Kayla Burton, Grace Dignam and Isabella Greig are the four ACT/NSW Country players selected in the squad.

All four cricketers were part of the ACT/NSW Country side that claimed the Under 15 National Championships in Adelaide last season. Dignam was the captain of that team.

NSW Metro has three representatives including Parramatta swing bowler Kate Peterson, her club team mate Molly Godsell and Jade Allen.

It is the second consecutive season that Allen has been selected in the Cricket Australia XI squad.

In her first full season of McDonald’s Women’s Premier Cricket, Peterson is among the top three leading wicket takers after five rounds of that competition.

Peterson has six wickets to her name, from three matches, at the impressive average of 13.83 and has helped Parramatta to the top of the Women’s Premier Cricket table.

Litchfield, who hails from Orange, has also enjoyed some great form for Parramatta in McDonald’s Women’s Premier Cricket this season.

In both the First Grade and, Combined First and Second Grade T20 competition, Litchfield has scored 233 runs at 46.6.

The Cricket Australia XI side will be coached by former Breakers great, Leah Poulton, in partnership with former Australian captain, Jodie Fields.

The squad was chosen following the Under 15 Talent Camp that took place at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in September. Poulton said the championships presented the 14 players selected with a terrific opportunity to further develop their skills against quality opposition.

“The inclusion of the CA XI (at the Under 18 National Championships) enables the next generation of under-18 players to test themselves against slightly older and more developed cricketers, including players who hold state and Big Bash contracts,” Poulton said.

The Under 18 championships return to the Ballarat and Bendigo regions for the first time since 2012. The tournament will again feature separate 50-over and Twenty20 competitions, with T20 night matches to be played for the first time.

This season the competition has been expanded to 10 teams. It will include two Victorian teams and a combined Northern Territory/Queensland side.

The Limited-Overs Final will be live streamed via the Cricket Australia Facebook page. The T20 final will be held on 18 January, while the 50-over decider takes place on the last day of the championships.

The Under 18 championships will also act as a selection trial for an Australia Under 19 team that will travel to New Zealand in March for three 50-over matches and one T20.

The Australian Under 19 squad will be named at the conclusion of the carnival.

Team Lists

Cricket Australia XI

1. Jade Allen (NSW Metro)

2. Kayla Burton (ACT/NSW Country)

3. Grace Dignam (ACT/NSW Country)

4. Georgia Gall (VIC Country)

5. Molly Godsell (NSW Metro)

6. Isabella Greig (ACT/NSW Country)

7. Ella Hayward (VIC Metro)

8. Molly Healy (Western Australia)

9. Emily Hinze (South Australia)

10. Ruth Johnston (Queensland)

11. Phoebe Litchfield (ACT/NSW Country)

12. Arnika McGregor (VIC Country)

13. Kate Peterson (NSW Metro)

14. Georgia Voll (Queensland)

ACT/New South Wales Country: Alisha Bates, Jessica Davidson, Hannah Faux, Lara Graham, Anita Handono, Emma Hughes, Anika Learoyd, Allison McGrath, Gabrielle Sutcliffe, Abbey Taylor, Alexandra Tims, Rachel Trenaman (c), Sarah Young, Olivia Osborne.

Queensland: Kirsten Davey, Renee Irvine, Emma Jackson, Ellie Johnston, Charli Knott, Neve Lynch, Caitlin Mair, Kate McDonald, Lilly Mills, Stacy Rockliff, Courtney Sippel, Emily Vallance, Annie Wikman.

Victoria Metro: Ava Bennett, Olivia Downes, Hailey Ferris, Tess Flintoff, Katia Jomini, Jessica Matin, Caitlin Morando, Erika Quinn, Lara Shannon, Eve Sheehan, Holly Spencer, Annabel Sutherland, Olivia Thomas, Alex Clancy.

Western Australia: Zoe Britcliffe, Charlotte Cooke, Emma Davidson, Georgie Ireland, Ashlee King, Emma Meuleman, Millie Monaghan, Jacqui Naidoo, Gorgia Platten, Olivia Purnell, Samantha Quadrio, Poppy Stockwell, Soniya Yadav.

New South Wales Metro: Isabelle Afaras, Stella Campbell, Dharmini Chauhan, Maddy Darke, Hannah Darlington (c), Stephanie Ellsmore, Angelina Genford, Isabella Malgioglio, Kristen McCormack, Elise Noble, Olivia Porter, Hayley Silver-Holmes, Sarah Turner, Nell Bryson-Smith, Shivani Mehta.

Victoria Country: Jaide Anthony, Tiana Atkinson, Letesha Bawden, Lucy Cripps, Merinda Hale, Mardie Hamilton, Alyssa Humphries, Madeline Jones, Meika King, Rhys McKenna, Jasmine Nevins, Lily Tassell, Sophie van De Heuvel.

Northern Territory/Queensland: Alexandra Blyton, Jessica Bradley, Rianna Carlson, Amber Cloughessy, Imogene Fisk-Walsh, Chloe Giacomo, Rachel Hartung, Kira Holmes, Matisse Hunter, Monet Hunter, Olivia Pilkington, Clodagh Ryall, Jemma Savill, Ruby Strange.

Tasmania: Chloe Abel, Sarah Breckweg, Bonnie Davies, Amy Duggan, Emma Manix-Geeves, Ella Marsh, Cassie McLoughlin, Grace Molnar, Stacey Norton-Smith, Sophie Parkin, Meg Radford, Clare Scott, Amy Smith.

South Australia: Stephanie Beazleigh, Darcie Brown, Rachel Church, Emma de Broughe, Caitlin Edmunds, Sarah Ferris, Taylah Gregory, Tarlee Meaney, Laura Niejalke, Amelia Rault, Sophie Roberts, Katie Rowe, Bella Smith, Ella Wilson.