International super star batsmen Steve Smith and David Warner are among five NSW Blues selected in the Australian One-Day International squad for the upcoming ICC World Cup starting May 30 in the United Kingdom.

Number one Test bowler paceman Pat Cummins, fellow fast bowler Mitchell Starc and off-spinner Nathan Lyon are the three other Blues in the squad announced on Monday.

All five players and Blues fast bowler Josh Hazlewood were awarded national contracts for the 2019/20 season bringing the total male and female cricketers contracted with Cricket Australia to 10.

Despite missing out on selection in the 15-player World Cup squad, Hazlewood will join recent Australian Test debutant, Blues batsman Kurtis Patterson, in both an Australia A One-Day and Four-Day squad to tour England ahead of the World Cup and Ashes respectively during June and July.

Reigning Steve Waugh Medallist, right-arm quick Sean Abbott, was rewarded for an outstanding 2018/19 season with selection in the 14-man Australia A One-Day squad to tour England starting 20 June.

Cricket Australia Chairman of selectors, Trevor Hohns, said the Australia A One-Day squad will play five matches against County teams during the course of the World Cup.

“This will provide us with the appropriate coverage to bring players into the Australian World Cup squad if required,” said Hohns.

Fourteen players were also selected in the four-day squad that will play three matches starting on 7 July.

Hazlewood will share the vice captaincy role in both Australia A squads.

Abbott was the leading wicket-taker for the Blues during the JLT One-Day Cup this season with 12 wickets at 25.5 including his first two five-wicket hauls in that arena at a domestic level.

The paceman also enjoyed his best season with the ball in the JLT Sheffield Shield. Abbott claimed 37 wickets at a tick over 22 and was a key reason why the Blues made their first Shield final since 2013/14.

Patterson made his maiden Test century in his second match against Sri Lanka during early February. For the fourth consecutive season, the left-hander made in excess of 600 Shield runs, scoring 724 runs at an average of 40.22.

Warner is currently the leading run-scorer in the Indian Premier League with 400 runs at 80 for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The powerhouse opener is the first batsman to reach that 400-run mark this season. Smith has been solid in his seven matches for Rajasthan Royals so far, scoring 186 runs at 37.2 and a strike rate above 107.

Hohns welcomed both players back in to the squad.

“Both are world class players and it has been pleasing to see them produce some good form in the IPL,” Hohns said.

Warner was also among the leading run-scorers in McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket this season with 909 runs from his 14 matches, across all formats, for Randwick Petersham.

He averaged 75.75 and passed 150 twice during the campaign. Smith made 636 runs for Sutherland at the impressive average of 57.82.

His highest score of 112 not out came in his final two-day match for Sutherland just before Christmas. Smith subsequently underwent surgery on his elbow which ruled him out of action for the rest of the Premier Cricket season.

Warner has also recovered from similar surgery.

Hohns explained that the selections of Starc and West Australian quick Jhye Richardson in the World Cup squad were subject to fitness. However, he was confident they would be ready by the start of the tournament.

“The advice from the CA medical team is they are progressing well and barring any setbacks will be available for selection ahead of our opening match against Afghanistan on June 1.”   

Australian Men’s World Cup Squad:

Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria)

Usman Khawaja (Queensland)

David Warner (New South Wales)

Steve Smith (New South Wales)

Shaun Marsh (Western Australia)

Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)

Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia)

Alex Carey (vc) (South Australia)

Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)

Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)

Jhye Richardson (Western Australia)

Nathan Coulter-Nile (Western Australia)

Jason Behrendorff (Western Australia)

Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)

Adam Zampa (South Australia)

2019/20 Cricket Australia Contract List

Patrick Cummins

Nathan Coulter-Nile

Alex Carey

Aaron Finch

Usman Khawaja

Peter Handscomb

Marcus Harris

Travis Head

Josh Hazlewood

Nathan Lyon

Glenn Maxwell

Shaun Marsh

Tim Paine

James Pattinson

Jhye Richardson

Steve Smith

Mitchell Starc

Marcus Stoinis

David Warner

Adam Zampa

Australia A Men’s ODI Squad:

Travis Head (c) (South Australia)

Matthew Wade (Tasmania)

Will Pucovski (Victoria)

Peter Handscomb (Victoria)

Ashton Turner (Western Australia)

Mitch Marsh (vc) (Western Australia)

D’Arcy Short (Western Australia)

Kurtis Patterson (New South Wales)

Ashton Agar (Western Australia)

Michael Neser (Queensland)

James Pattinson (Victoria)

Josh Hazlewood (vc) (New South Wales)

Kane Richardson (South Australia)

Sean Abbott (New South Wales)

Australia A Four-Day Squad:

Tim Paine (c) (Tasmania)

Marcus Harris (Victoria)

Kurtis Patterson (New South Wales)

Will Pucovski (Victoria)

Travis Head (vc) (South Australia)

Peter Handscomb (Victoria)

Matthew Wade (Tasmania)

Mitch Marsh (Western Australia)

Michael Neser (Queensland)

Jon Holland (Victoria)

James Pattinson (Victoria)

Jackson Bird (Tasmania)

Josh Hazlewood (vc) (New South Wales)

Chris Tremain (Victoria)